Thoughtful Third Thursday: August, 2014

It’s T3 time again! This month is a Freebie, no theme just pick whatever you want. In keeping with Children’s Book Month here on the blog, I’m taking my inspiration from a childhood favorite: A Special Trade by Sally Wittman.

imageThis is the simply gorgeous story of two best friends. Bartholomew is an elderly man who looks after his young neighbor, Nellie. As she grows up and he grows older, they trade places. My favorite line, oft repeated in my house, is:

Don’t be saddish, have a radish!

Radishes are certainly not my favorite vegetable, but they do come in lovely colors!

For my radish inspired look I combined the reddish purple, white, and green colors from the picture above. I even threw on a nude and gold studded belt because it reminds me of the radish on the far right. 😀

8/15/14

Unfortunately, A Special Trade is out of print, but my library had a copy! Some other stories about intergenerational friendships are Uncle Elephant by Arnold Lobel and A Christmas Memory by Truman Capote.

Okay, its your turn! Link up below:

5 thoughts on “Thoughtful Third Thursday: August, 2014

  1. mtsedwards says:

    Thanks for this! I’m going to my library soonish to pick these up. This year in my class, I’m going to challenge my kids to think of different kinds of writing, not just boring old essays, and children’s books are a sadly-forgotten but still-pleasurable mode/niche/genre that high school kids often overlook. This could be my first mini-unit in conjunction with Beowulf since the idea of entertaining and informing our children is analogous to the Anglo-Saxons’ entertaining and informing their people through their epic poetry. 😀

    And the outfit is inspired as well – both in fashion and in concept; I can always count on you to be astonishingly creative. 😀 ❤

    Like

  2. Stephanie says:

    I love this so much from the quote to the modeling your outfit on radishes:) Thoughtful indeed! Inter-generational friendships are great and I appreciate the reading suggestions. I’ll throw in a plug for one of my favorite movies in recent years – Up – which never fails to make me smile and cry at the same time.

    Like

Leave a comment