1920s Inspiration & Weekly Recap

A few weeks ago my lovely friend, Maricel, asked me what I would wear for a 1920s link up.  I referred her, and myself, to another lovely friend, Caitlin, and her post on 1920s fashion.  After a little pinning, here’s what I came up with:

1920s

  • faux drop waist
  • handkerchief hem
  • pearls
  • long chain with locket (I believe my locket is authentic 1920s. I know it belonged to my grandmother, and I’m guessing it was her mother’s.)
  • round toe shoes
  • bob haircut.

So, what is all this 1920s inspiration for?  Why, Spy Girl’s 52 Pick-me-up Roaring 20s link up, of course!

And now for the Weekly Recap!

2/15/14

Saturday:  Graphic tee & flannel.

2/16/14

Sunday: Purple explosion!

2/17/14

Monday:  Dinner out.

2/18/14

Tuesday:  Neutrals, purple, and man did I need a haircut!

2/19/14

Wednesday:  Channeling my inner Parisian (or mime).

2/20/14

Thursday:  Remembering high school.

2/21/14

Friday:  While the 1920s look is something I will wear in the Spring, it’s not really weather appropriate at the moment.  So I switched out the skirt for boyfriend jeans, and threw on my trusty flannel for warmth.  I love the juxtaposition of the feminine pieces from the 20s looks with the tomboyish flannel and jeans.

Next week I’m participating in another remix!  This one is a 7 + 1 x 7, so I’ll be remixing 8 pieces ALL week (Sunday – Saturday).  The remix is hosted by Carrie @ A Lovely Little Wardrobe.

7 thoughts on “1920s Inspiration & Weekly Recap

  1. mtsedwards says:

    I think my favorites are the purple and the Breton stripe. Oh, and that 20s-inspired look is genius! Broken down like that (your bullet-pointed list) makes it seem so easy. So I DIDN’T have to scour eBay on a Mad Hunt for items – I had all those pieces already. Sigh. Sometimes, I overcomplicate my life…

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      Thank you! I was thrilled with the way my 1920s look turned out – I wasn’t sure how it would all look ON, since I don’t have the ideal 20s figure (40s & 50s lend themselves more toward my body type).

      If you want, I can share my ideas for the other decade link ups. Hopefully, I can help inspire you to shop your closet. 🙂

      Like

  2. Anne the SpyGirl says:

    LOVE your 20’s look! And then your weekly recap — cute x 7. I think the “Mime” is my fave. Haha. Thanks so much for linking up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

