Top Five Tuesday: My Kids’ (Current) Childhood Favorites

Two weeks ago I did a Top Ten Tuesday about my favorite books from childhood.  During the blog hop I discovered a post by Lisa is Busy Nerding where she wrote about her daughter’s current favorite books.  I thought it was a great idea for a post. 

Pumpkin Pie’s current favorites:

  1. The Ramona books by Beverly Cleary. He got a complete set of the Ramona books for Christmas – he actually hugged it and exclaimed, “I LOVE Ramona!”
  2. The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis. We read these in order of publication, and that’s how they’re placed on our shelves, despite the reordered numbers on their spines.
  3. The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien.  We’re in the process of reading this now.  He always wants to read the songs and actually sing them.
  4. A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket.  I read these aloud to him several years ago. It took over a year of bedtime readings to get through all 13, but he loved them.  He has since read them all himself, as well as listening to the audio books countless times.
  5. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling.  I’m confident he’ll love the entire series, but he’s only read the first book so far.

Sweet Potato’s current favorites:

  1. The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum.  After a viewing of the classic film, I read this aloud to her.  We both agree that the Lion is our favorite character.
  2. The Bear Nobody Wanted by Janet and Allan Ahlberg.  We just finished this as our bedtime read aloud.  It was new to me, but I found it just as charming as the Ahlbergs’ picture books.
  3. Snowbound with Betsy by Carolyn Haywood.  I remember my mother reading this to me, and I read it to both children over Christmas break. The first book in the series, B is for Betsy, is our current bedtime read aloud.
  4. The Mercy Watson series by Kate DiCamillo.  She cannot get enough of Mercy’s silly antics!
  5. The Ladybug Girl series by David Soman and Jackie Davis.  These are the ones she begs Pumpkin Pie to read to her, and he happily complies.
13 thoughts on “Top Five Tuesday: My Kids’ (Current) Childhood Favorites

  1. mtsedwards says:

    So I’m an inveterate bookworm, yeah? And wen I had kids, I had these visions of tucking into bed with them and reading aloud to them until they fell, heavy-headed, asleep on my shoulder and I slid out of bed and turned off the light, smiling sweetly at their replete faces.

    Not.

    Gods, if only my life was a Hollywood feel-good movie! My son only read because he had to and acted truly put upon when I herded him into his room for our nightly “chore”. My daughter would rather read to herself, thank you very much. Nowadays, firmly entrenched in their technologies, I don’t think they read at all. Rather, they Minecraft or FaceTime respectively and my floor-to-ceiling bookshelves groaning under the weight of my childhood faves is left ignored.

    I console myself with two facts: 1. that neither one of my parents ever read aloud to me and I still ended up this way and 2. that studies show it’s not necessarily the reading aloud but the being surrounded by books that makes children literate. We shall see…

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      Oh, I hope they come around when they’re a little older. My son has always loved to be read to, and he’s a confirmed bookworm himself now. My daughter never could sit still long enough for more than a picture book, which is why I started reading to them at meal times – captive audience.
      She is more digitally oriented and we work hard to keep that in check. Last Summer and Fall, when we were so busy moving, she got addicted to my iPod Touch. We ended up hiding it and telling her it was broken. I just recently brought it back out, “fixed” but with considerably fewer apps. Most of what’s left on there are picture book apps.

      Like

  2. Maura says:

    We LOVE Ladybug Girl too! My daughter’s nickname is Ladybug and when I stumbled across the books at the library, I knew we’d have a hit and I was right! My son loves to “read” to his sister. He’s starting to put together letters a bit, so hopefully real reading isn’t too far away! My son’s been begging me to read Harry Potter to him. He loves the movies. I’ve thought about playing the audiobooks for him.

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      Honestly, I can’t imagine NOT reading to my kids and encouraging them to read. My mom read to me until I was in my teens, took me to the library every week, and always allowed me plenty of time to read. Raising my kids the same way just feels natural. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

