A Surprise Wednesday Post

I don’t usually post on Wednesday, but I got nominated for another Liebster Award!  So, a big THANK YOU to Catherine from Spirit of Children’s Literature!  Since I just did a Liebster Award post in February, I’m just going to answer Catherine’s incredibly thought provoking questions:

  1. If you could only recommend one book to someone, what one book would you recommend?  Pride and Prejudice, because everyone should read some Jane Austen!
  2. When you read, do you drink tea or coffee?  If I’m reading in the morning, I drink coffee. When I read later in the day, I drink sweet iced tea (warm weather) or hot chocolate (cold weather).
  3. What character from what book would you most like to have dinner with?  I’d love to be invited to a family dinner at the Weasley’s home, the Burrow. Seat me between Fred & George, please!
  4. What is your favorite book in the time travel genre?  Hmm, for as much as I love fantasy, I haven’t read a lot of time travel books. My kids and I really enjoy the Magic Tree House books. I also loved The Sixty-Eight Rooms by Marianne Malone.
  5. What series do you wish had one more book?  I’d love another Hunger Games book – from Peeta’s perspective.
  6. What is your favorite childhood book?  I did a whole post on this!
  7. Which of these bookish occupations would you choose? Bookseller, librarian, editor, literary agent, or writer?  Librarian, for sure. I worked at my local library in high school, and I’d love to go back when my kids are older.
  8. There are fairy tale reworkings galore: Cinder, Scarlet, Zel, Cruel Beauty, etc.—Is there another fairy tale or a classic that you think should be re-written/re-worked as a YA novel?  I’d love to see more of this done with Shakespeare. Much Ado About Nothing would probably make a great YA novel.
  9. What book do you think should never have been made into a movie?  I wish they’d never made a film of The Lovely Bones. I haven’t watched it, because I know Stanley Tucci will be brilliant, and I can’t bear to watch him be so evil.
  10. Do you mostly buy books or borrow them from the library?  Until recently, I would’ve said library, for sure. Now that I have a bigger house, with a dedicated library, I’ve been buying more books. It’s probably 50/50 now.
  11. What author would you most like to visit your blog?  Robin McKinley!  Tomorrow I’m posting a mini-review of her book, Sunshine, along with an outfit inspired by the book. 😀
4 thoughts on “A Surprise Wednesday Post

  1. mtsedwards says:

    You’re right – these are thought-provoking questions. Mind if I steal some for a future 5 Things post? (And I heartily agree with #8 and #9!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

