What I’m Reading: The Giver

The Giver

Recently, I found myself in an interesting position – I had a Sunday afternoon free and “nothing” on hand to read.  The last 2 books on my Spring TBR were on hold at the library, but not yet available.  So, I decided to read The Giver by Lois Lowry – a book that was supposed to be on my Summer TBR.

The Giver was published in 1993, when I was 15.  At that time I thought I was too old for middle grade books, and I wasn’t old enough yet to know better. 🙂  So, this is my first experience with the book.

I absolutely loved the world building!  Lowry crafted a world that is eerily similar, and yet vastly different, from our own.  With the exception of Jonas, the characters weren’t particularly well developed, but I think this was an intentional choice on Lowry’s part.

While reading, I could see where the author was influenced by earlier dystopian works, particularly Orwell’s 1984, The Lottery by Shirley Jackson, and The Ones Who Walk Away From Omelas by Ursula K. Le Guin.  I could also see how much The Giver has influenced more recent works, like The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau, and my favorite, The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins, particularly Mockingjay .  I will definitely be adding the rest of The Quartet to my Summer TBR!

We gained control of many things. But we had to let go of others.

REMINDER:  Our May T3 link up is next Thursday, 5/15/14!  We’re particularly excited this month, because we have a special announcement to make.

7 thoughts on “What I’m Reading: The Giver

  1. mtsedwards says:

    Ha! This book is on my summer reading list too. All my students rave about this, but like you, I thought myself too old for YA books when it came out and somehow missed it. Ironically, to get back into reading – I hit a slump recently; all my library books were duds – I’m currently trying a Tamora Pierce duology in the Tortall world I had somehow missed when it came out. It’s not really doing anything for me so perhaps I’ll move The Giver up on my queue too.

    Like

  2. Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

    I rated this 4 stars on Goodreads, because it’s not a 5 star stand-alone. If the sequels (I’ve already bought all 3) are as good as The Giver, I will definitely go back and give it 5 stars. Oh, and it’s a super fast read – I read the whole thing in about 3 hours (I could’ve easily read it in one sitting, except I had to do boring things like cook dinner 😛 ). You could probably knock the whole Quartet out in a day. 🙂

    Like

  3. littleonionwrites says:

    This is a popular topic! Now that you’ve pointed out that Lois Lowry was influenced by Orwell’s 1984, I kind of want to try reading it again. I started it during Bout of Books, but only got six pages in before deeming it boring xD Perhaps I’ll try 1984 tonight…

    Like

Leave a Reply

