What I’m Reading: Summer TBR Update

TBR

So, today’s post was supposed to be my review of Framley Parsonage, but I’m nowhere close to being done with it. 😦 Apparently, I suck at read-alongs. I really am enjoying the book, but the read-along aspect gives it an “assigned reading” feel that I’m rebelling against!

Instead, I’m going to do a Summer TBR Update. I have 40 books on my Goodreads Summer 2014 TBR list. I talked about ten of them here. My list includes books and short stories for myself as well as books and audiobooks to share with my children.

So far I’ve completed 31 of the 40, and I’ve reviewed 11 of those:
The Giver
Gathering Blue, Messenger, Son
Attachments
Austenland
The Eyre Affair
The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials, The Death Cure
How to Train Your Dragon

I’m currently reading 3 other books on my list – the aforementioned Framley Parsonage, All In Good Time (to my kids), and Betsy’s Play School (to my daughter). The remaining 6 books I’ll either get to in August, or they’ll get bumped to Fall or Winter (argh – why is it that 5 of the books I haven’t read yet are from my Top Ten?!?).

It’s also been my privilege and honor to be a beta reader for my friend Maricel. 🙂 Beta reading is a new experience for me and it’s different than any other reading I’ve done before. I can’t just read mindlessly, I have to think about pacing, character development, plot points, etc. It’s a unique opportunity that I am enjoying immensely! I sincerely hope that Maricel succeeds in publishing her book – I truly believe it could be a big hit!

5 thoughts on “What I’m Reading: Summer TBR Update

  1. mtsedwards says:

    At least you’re reading this summer. After June, I’ve really thrown a wrench in my Goodreads challenge by taking on my story writing. 😦

    But humungous smiley face emoji for making your TBR list even without the official ISBN attached to it. You are the best beta reader I could possibly hope for and you know I wouldn’t have gotten as far as I have (52K words and counting!) had it not been for your astute comments and insightful suggestions. We make an amazing team! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

