Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Give to Readers Who Have Never Read a Cozy Mystery

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic (say that 3 times fast) over at The Broke and the Bookish is “Books I’d Give to Readers Who Have Never Read X”. I chose one of my favorite feel-good genres: the Cozy Mystery.

“Cozy mysteries, also referred to simply as “cozies”, are a subgenre of crime fiction in which sex and violence are downplayed or treated humorously, and the crime and detection take place in a small, socially intimate community.” Thank you Wikipedia. 😉

Cozies always seem to be series, so I’ve listed the first book in 10 of my favorite cozy series:

Modern:

One For the Money by Janet Evanovich – This first novel in the Stephanie Plum series is darker in tone than most cozies, but the scrappy heroine and hilarious hijinks make it a must read for me.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder by Joanne Fluke – There are a plethora of culinary sleuths and Hannah Swensen is one of my favorite.

The Quiche of Death by M. C. Beaton – Agatha Raisin is an anti-heroine that I can’t help but love.

Historical:

Death at Wentwater Court by Carola Dunn – The Daisy Dalrymple series is perfect for Downton Abbey fans!

The Tale of Hill Top Farm by Susan Wittig Albert – This series features Beatrix Potter as the amateur sleuth, weaving real events from her life with animal stories to create a unique cozy experience.

Anything Goes by Jill Churchill – The Grace and Favor series is well researched, combining a history lesson on 1930s Americana with a fun cozy mystery.

Oddball:

The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde – A sci-fi cozy! See my review here. I’m looking forward to reading more about Thursday Next.

The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax by Dorothy Gilman – This series successfully combines a traditional cozy heroine, Emily Pollifax, with the fast paced world of espionage.

Classic:

The Murder at the Vicarage by Agatha Christie – Miss Marple is the consummate female amateur sleuth. A must read!

The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie – Hercule Poirot is the only professional detective on the list and one of my favorite literary characters!

Linking up: Top Ten Tuesday

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Give to Readers Who Have Never Read a Cozy Mystery

  1. Stephanie says:

    I LOVE this list and Cozy Mysteries! I was just eyeing the Mrs. Pollifax books at the library this weekend but wasn’t sure was book one. Now I do:) It sounds more espionage-y. I really like the Carola Dunn series but have a complicated relationship with M.C. Beaton. Have you read any of her Hamish MacBeth series?

    Like

      • Stephanie says:

        The simple answer is they are fun. I am also obsessed with the three season BBC series featuring Robert Carlyle from the mid-1990s. I just struggle a little with M.C. Beaton because of her writing style. It’s very abrupt or something and throws me off. But I generally love her characters and subject matter. It’s weird and unique among my relationships with authors. If you like Agatha Raisin though, I would definitely give Hamish a try. And the TV Show is super awesome.

        Like

  2. Melissa says:

    I’ve been wondering if the Evanovich books might be worth reading. I like Grafton’s novels and have heard they are similar. Sometimes I’m just in the mood for a fun mystery.

    Like

Leave a Reply

