Top Five Tuesday: Things I Did This Year

Melissa @ Avid Reader’s Musings did a great post for her 30th birthday highlighting all the wonderful things she did in her 20s. That post inspired today’s Top Five Tuesday: Things I Did This Year, in honor of my 36th birthday on Friday. 🙂

Sold

  1. Bought my “Forever Home” – this was a HUGE deal for us, as it involved years of saving and planning, house hunting, buying, moving (ugh, that’s the worst), and then selling our old house.Wedding Pic
  2. Celebrated 13 years of marriage to my wonderful husband – read the beginning of our story here.
  3. Homeschooled both of my children for the first time. I’ve been homeschooling my son since 2010, but this past school year was my daughter’s first. The biggest thing I did was teach her to read! Teaching a child to read is an amazing experience – I’m so thrilled to have taught both of my kids to read and to watch them blossom into little bibliophiles. 😀
  4. Started this blog! Not only did I start this blog, but I also co-created and co-host a link up: Thoughtful Third Thursday (T3) with my best blogging buddy, Maricel.TBR
  5. Read a LOT of books! I started tracking my reads via Pinterest and then moved over to Goodreads. In the past 12 months, I’ve read 71 books (68 of them in 2014), not including the 28 Magic Tree House books and numerous non-fiction and picture books I’ve read to my kids. 😉
10 thoughts on “Top Five Tuesday: Things I Did This Year

  1. mtsedwards says:

    Oh, my goodness! This Friday! Happy birthday!!! And these are amazing life accomplishments, especially the homeschooling. I’m always in awe of people who do what I do for free. And for people they love too! I dunno how you manage; my kids and I would be wrecks if I tried. You’re uh-mazing. Happy, happy birthday in advance. I hope you’ve planned something grand!

    Like

  2. Melissa says:

    I love looking back on what previous months and years have held! It reminds me how far I’ve come. Your home is beautiful and 13 years is just incredible! I hope you have a wonderful birthday!!!

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      I’ve never really sat down and listed it before but I enjoyed it. The list made me realize just how much I accomplished! While no house is perfect, I do love this one. 🙂 We’re coming up on 14 years now (next month) and it’s still hard to believe it’s been that long!

      Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      Thank you! Yes, terrifying + exciting sums up home-buying perfectly. Selling our first house, in conjunction with buying our current one, was another level of terrifying. 😯 It all worked out beautifully though. 😀 Congratulations on your first house!

      Like

  3. Stephanie says:

    What a great idea for a post! Lots of awesome milestones this year! Buying a house was one of the most stressful things I’ve ever done and I definitely am not in my forever home – I’m dreading the next go round so I can imagine how excited you must be!! Happy Birthday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

