Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Want to Re-read

I am an unapologetic re-reader, and there are certain books that are perpetually on my re-read list: Harry Potter, The Hunger Games trilogy, Pride and Prejudice, The Chronicles of Narnia, Agatha Christie. This list is more specific.

Re-read

Tooth and Claw by Jo Walton. I read this for the first time earlier this year and LOVED it! I definitely want to re-read it in the nearish future (sometime in the next 3 years).

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier. I adore this Gothic classics with one of the best opening lines in history.

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloane. This book was a delightful surprise when I first read it several years ago. My husband gave me a copy for my birthday this year, so now I get to recapture the magic.

The Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins. I first read this five book series after I read The Hunger Games trilogy 2x in a row and still couldn’t get enough of Collins’ work. I want to re-read it before my son gets to it in a year or two.

The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley. McKinley is one of my favorite authors, and my husband gave me a whole shelf full of her books last Christmas.

The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax by Dorothy Gilman. The Mrs. Pollifax books were the first cozy series I ever read, and I’m looking forward to revisiting them.

Watership Down by Richard Adams. I read this one on the recommendation of my baby brother, and it quickly became a favorite.

My Life in France by Julia Child. I first read this after seeing the delightful Julie & Julia, and was just as delighted with the real Julia (I cannot say the same for Julie Powell’s Julie and Julia).

A Girl from Yamhill by Beverly Cleary. This is the first autobiography I remember reading. It is funny, of course, but also dark and disturbing at times. I want to re-read it and then read the second volume, My Own Two Feet.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Anne Shaffer and Annie Barrows. I was lucky enough to read an ARC (back when my sister worked at a B&N and would pass ARCs on to me), and I’m looking forward to re-reading the finished version.

I’m linking up:ย Top Ten Tuesday

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Want to Re-read

  1. mtsedwards says:

    I keep seeing Watership Down on many, many top lists but I could never get over the whole rat thing. I guess I’m a shameless romantic and I can’t see myself empathizing with a rat. Ironic, since I was born on the year of the rat. Penumbra ftw, though. ;p

    Like

  2. Madame Vauquer says:

    Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore is on my list of rereads too! And believe me, at my age, that list is pretty darn short, lol. If it was longer, I could easily put Watership Down on it. I remember I avoided that book when it was on the bestseller list because I thought it was a war novel. Finally I was enlightened.

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore is lovely. ๐Ÿ™‚ Watership Down is one I’d like to read aloud (or listen to an audiobook) to my children when they’re a little older. They’re 6 & 9, so it’ll probably be 5 or 6 years. I’m not sure whether I’ll re-read it myself before that.

      Like

  3. kateposeyphd says:

    Wow! What a great list! There are quite a few on here I still need to read for the first time like Tooth and Claw, Rebecca, Mr. Penumbra, The Hero and the Crown, and My Life in France. I own three of those so I need to get busy! ๐Ÿ˜€ I can agree with you on Watership Down and the Potato Peel Society. Both would be fantastic re-reads!

    Like

  4. Stephanie says:

    I can’t believe I didn’t think of The Hero and the Crown (And the Blue Sword)! I loved those book and it’s been too long! The Mrs. Pollifax mysteries and Tooth and Claw are pretty high up my TBR. On a tangential note it sounds like your husband is an awesome gift giver!!

    Like

  5. chessakat says:

    Oooh, these are great! I loved Mr. Penumbra and Guernsey and Rebecca – and I think the rest need to be added to my TBR list! I loved Hunger Games, too – glad to hear that the Overlander series is good – I want to share HG with my son, but he’s too young for it for a few years yet (8 yo) – but sounds like Overlander skews a little younger?

    Like

Leave a Reply

