Thankful Thursday #1

2 years ago my dear friend Caitlin @ Greater Than Rubies posted something she was thankful for EVERY DAY in November. I played along in the comments, as well as keeping a list on my phone (which I saved). I want to revisit that idea, so Thankful Thursdays are taking over November! Of course, I’ll still be co-hosting Thoughtful Third Thursday (a. k. a. T3) on the 20th (this month is a FREEBIE Topic).

We’ll start with my original list from 2012 (the numbers correspond with the day of the month):

  1. Gilmore Girls reruns
  2. My Mom
  3. My husband, Bert
  4. Operation Christmas Child
  5. Books/reading
  6. American freedom / right to vote (it was Election Day)
  7. Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child by Marc Weissbluth
  8. “How He Loves” by John Mark McMillan
  9. Friday Game Night (my husband goes 3x per month, so I get alone time, which is important for an introvert)
  10. Family Game Night / Family Movie Night
  11. Everyone who works to keep me and mine safe
  12. My kids (and being DONE)
  13. Bracelets
  14. Harry Potter
  15. Sleep
  16. Wishbone
  17. Purple skinny jeans (they started my purple obsession!)
  18. Homeschooling
  19. New friends
  20. Autumn spice brownies (the recipe from the pin, plus cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg)
  21. Thanksgiving morning traditions – the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, The National Dog Show, a cozy fire
  22. That I don’t have to host Thanksgiving (or even do much cooking)
  23. My health (I was sick and missing my health)
  24. Pride & Prejudice (the book, the Colin Firth mini-series, and the old Greer Garson / Laurence Olivier version – anachronisms and all)
  25. Sunday afternoon naps
  26. Harris Teeter
  27. My own bed (my kids were sick and I was sleeping on the couch to be closer to them)
  28. Breakfast for dinner
  29. whatsthatbook.com (this site helped me rediscover The Mysterious Shrinking House by Jane Louise Curry)
  30. Christmas time

What are you thankful for today?

4 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday #1

  1. mtsedwards says:

    Ah, much as I love lists, the “what are you thankful for?” one really stymies me. I suppose it’s because gratitude is an emotion that has Catholic connotations for me, and as a lapsed Catholic, I find it difficult to get beyond the religious overtones. And then I get all cheeky and snarky because that’s my default emotion to things that make me feel awkward and then people misconstrue my words and then flame wars ensue. So I think I’ll pass on this one and just read and appreciate your month of thankfulness from the sidelines. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

