Top Fifteen Tuesday: Christmas Books

imagePicture Books:

  1. The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsburg
  2. Arthur’s Christmas Cookies by Lillian Hoban
  3. Okie-Dokie, Artichokie! by Grace Lin
  4. Kipper’s Christmas Eve by Mick Inkpen
  5. How the Grinch Stole Christmas by Dr. Seuss

image“Chapter” Books (read alouds):

  1. Miracle on 34th Street by Valentine Davies
  2. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis
  3. Snowbound with Betsy by Carolyn Haywood
  4. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
  5. The Best Christmas Pageant Ever by Barbara Robinson

imageMy Christmas TBR:

  1. Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle
  2. My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by Stephanie Perkins (editor), Holly Black, Ally Carter, Gayle Forman, Jenny Han, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Matt de la Pena, Rainbow Rowell, Laini Taylor, and Kiersten White
  3. The Twelve Clues of Christmas by Rhys Bowen
  4. Jane and the Twelve Days of Christmas by Stephanie Barron
  5. Rest You Merry by Charlotte MacLeod
19 thoughts on “Top Fifteen Tuesday: Christmas Books

  1. mtsedwards says:

    Oh, Let It Snow was darling, even if I wasn’t such a John Green supporter. And hrmmm…I’d not thought to use TLtWatW as a readaloud. Aly has been bemoaning the fact that she can’t get into books recently and she’s been having issues sleeping. I wonder if I ought to try this classic with her. It’s not her genre but I enjoy it and if I read it with her…

    Like

      • mtsedwards says:

        Okay, I’m more rested today so maybe I’ll try it tonight. She kept the hubs up last night instead so if she still has trouble tonight, it’s my watch. Sigh…

        Like

  2. Stephanie says:

    I wasn’t aware of that Stephanie Barron Jane Austen book that was published this year! I have a a bunch of books I need to finish for challenges in December but I may need to try and sneak this one in! Nice Christmasy list!

    Like

  3. kateposeyphd says:

    Love this post! I actually have a used copy of the Miracle on 34th Street you list! I love The Polar Express and actually went on a “real” one on Mt. Hood, in Oregon, with my best friend and her kids. It was delightful! This is a wonderful way to get into the Christmas spirit–posting Christmas books. Of course, you can never go wrong with A Christmas Carol. I love re-reading that around the holidays. 🙂

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      My kids and I have been re-reading the Magic Tree House books this year, and I timed it so that we’ll read A Ghost Tale for Christmas Time right before Christmas break. In that book the protagonists meet Charles Dickens and learn about Victorian England. We’ll follow it up with A Christmas Carol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

