Thoughtful Third Thursday: January 2015

imageTime for the first T3 of 2015. This month’s theme is Favorite Literary Man (thanks to Val of Muse Fondue for the idea!). Of course, I have some fictional crushes and book boyfriends (come back Tuesday to read more on that subject), but my all time favorite literary man is Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot. He is so endearingly pompous!

“Really, my friend! But I will not sit back and say ‘le bon Dieu has arranged everything, and I will not interfere.’ Because I am convinced that le bon Dieu created Hercule Poirot for the express purpose of interfering. It is my mΓ©tier.”

“You speak without reflection, Hastings. No ordinary person could have prevented it–but what good is it to be Hercule Poirot with grey cells of a finer quality than other people’s, if you do not manage to do what ordinary people cannot?”
– Agatha Christie, Peril at End House


Poirot always dresses quite nattily, in mixed neutrals. He is fond of bow ties (because they’re cool, obviously), oxfords, and perfect accessories. Don’t forget his famous mustache!

He was hardly more than five feet four inches, but carried himself with great dignity. His head was exactly the shape of an egg, and he always perched it a little on one side. His moustache was very stiff and military. The neatness of his attire was almost incredible; I believe a speck of dust would have caused him more pain than a bullet wound.
– Agatha Christie, The Mysterious Affair at Styles

Poirot

I chose all neutrals, and a traditionally masculine houndstooth print. My tights have a bow tie print (I wonder how Poirot would feel about my mixing prints?!?). The heirloom 1920s era locket and mustache cuff bracelet finish off my tribute.

Now it’s your turn! Who’s your Favorite Literary Man?

18 thoughts on “Thoughtful Third Thursday: January 2015

  1. Dagny says:

    Tough question! My first thought is Balzac’s Bianchon, all-around good guy and delightful dinner companion. Then when I remembered his first name it Horace, that brought Horace Rumpole to mind. He’d be fun to listen to, but I wouldn’t want to work or live with him, lol.

    Like

  2. Alison's Wonderland Recipes says:

    Hercule Poirot is my favorite literary man as well! I think his distinctive style makes him a perfect choice for a T3 theme. You did a great job pulling all the tribute items together in a way that worked without looking costume-y. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. mtsedwards says:

    And big ups for mustache tights! I’m sure Poirot would be most amused. I love how we both chose detectives as our fave literary man – we must go for brains over brawn, eh?

    Like

  4. rudejasper says:

    This is almost certainly one of the more awesome things I’ve ever scene. Bow tie tights? Amazing! Poirot is one of my favorites as well and your tribute to him is really clever and looks great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

