TTT: 2nd Quarter 2015 TBR

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR List. I’m doing my 2nd Quarter 2015 TBR.

My goal for the 2nd Quarter is to make a big dent in my challenge reading:

image

  1. Queen of Hearts by Rhys Bowen
  2. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë
  3. Cards on the Table by Agatha Christie
  4. Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass by Frederick Douglass
  5. Heirs of the Body by Carola Dunn
  6. The Hundred Dresses by Eleanor Estes
  7. Pippi Longstocking series by Astrid Lindgren
  8. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
  9. Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan
  10. Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

Update on my 1st Quarter TBR:

  1. Aunt Dimity’s Good Deed by Nancy Atherton ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
  2. The Twelve Clues of Christmas by Rhys Bowen ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
  3. Gone West by Carola Dunn ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
  4. Top Secret Twenty-One by Janet Evanovich ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
  5. Lost in a Good Book by Jasper Fforde ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
  6. Death Of A Gossip by M.C. Beaton ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
  7. Death by Darjeeling by Laura Childs DNF
  8. The Big Over Easy by Jasper Fforde – I couldn’t get into this one. :/ I’ll read it some other time.
  9. The Cold Dish by Craig Johnson DNF
  10. The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax by Dorothy Gilman ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

I’m linking up: Top Ten Tuesday

This Thursday, March 19th, is Thoughtful Third Thursday! Join us for T3! Our theme is “Marching On (a book you had to slog through to finish and/or a series you marathoned)”.

15 thoughts on “TTT: 2nd Quarter 2015 TBR

  1. mtsedwards says:

    Oh, finish Penumbra for sure! It’s amazing!

    And huzzah for Mrs. Pollifax! She’s my new fave hero! I would marathon read her but my library is taking FOREVER getting me the third book. I’ve been on queue for it for a month now! :/

    Like

  2. Dagny says:

    I also loved Penumbra. Her Royal Spyness is a series I keep meaning to start.

    Uh, oh on The Cold Dish. I got that one because I loved the tv series so much. Looks like it won’t be moving up on my TBR anytime soon.

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      I think we’ve discussed Penumbra’s cover before? My mom warned me but the glow in the dark cover still freaked me out a bit. 🙂

      You must try Her Royal Spyness – such a fun series!

      That’s why I got The Cold Dish too. It’s not bad, it’s just grittier than the Longmire show, which isn’t what I prefer to read. I seem to be able to handle gritty shows better than books.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dagny says:

        Yes, that freaky cover on Penumbra. And you’re the one who persuaded me to read the Georgie books. I love her Molly Murphy ones and the old Evan Evans series, but was put off by the fact that Georgie is an aristocrat. Then you told me she has a Cockney gramps and thought the aristocracy ridiculous. They’re on my TBR now.

        Some of the Longmire episodes were a bit too harsh for me, but then it’s only 45 minutes. I think that is what saved it over reading a book. I’ve read a few by other others where almost half the book was too violent for my taste.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. rudejasper says:

    A nicely eclectic list and pretty ambitious. Plus way to go on your last quarter TBR!! I need to catch up on the Carola Dunn series. Mr. Penumbra was a lot of fun – hope you enjoy it!

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      I don’t tend to think of myself as an eclectic reader, but there is some variety to this list. I read so much more now that I do these lists! How many of the Carola Dunn books have you read? Penumbra is a re-read so I’m sure I’ll enjoy it. 🙂

      Like

      • rudejasper says:

        Number 8, Rattle His Bones is the next I have to read in the Carola Dunn series. I stopped for a silly reason – I was enjoying the series on audio and my library ran out of the cds at number 7:). Also, I think you’re pretty eclectic in your reading!

        Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      Jane Eyre is a re-read – I’m planning to listen to an audio version read by actress Amanda Root. I loved her in Persuasion and I’m looking forward to it!

      If I ever read The Little Prince it was so long ago that I don’t remember it. I’m going to read it aloud to my kids. 🙂

      I ❤ your blog’s name!

      Like

  4. Whitney @ Whitney à la mode says:

    I can’t remember if you’ve read any of the Tea Shop Mysteries by Laura Childs before?? I’ve read quite a few of them (although I think there are more out that I haven’t gotten to yet). I think they are cute little cozy mysteries. I’m interested to hear your take!

    Like

Leave a Reply

