Thoughtful Third Thursday: March 2015

Today’s T3 theme is “Marching On (a book you had to slog through to finish and/or a series you marathoned)”. I chose Jill Churchill’s Jane Jeffry series which I marathoned back in 2007 or 2008.

Jane is, like me, a suburban housewife. She just happens to stumble across dead bodies and solve murder mysteries! I’m taking my inspiration from this quote from the first book:

“Oh, Mother! . . . Are you really wearing that?

Jane looked down at the sweat shirt she’d pulled over her head. No stains, no frays, no messages, obscene or otherwise. “Why not? Who’s to care?”

“Everybody’ll see you!” Katie wailed.

“Katie, ‘everybody’ is a bunch of other half-asleep mothers who have also stupidly allowed themselves to be dragged into the cheerleading practice car pool. We’ll all be ashamed of ourselves. There is no eye contact in the junior high parking lot at 6:30 A. M. Take my word for it.”

– Jill Churchill, Grime and Punishment

Since there are 16 books in the series, I’m giving you 16 different takes on the suburban mom uniform of sweat shirt, jeans, and sneakers.

The basic look, which I hope is at least updated a bit, with the short sleeved sweatshirt and skinny jeans:

image

Sneakers with a pop of color or patterns make a fun change:

Comfy flats or accessories dress it up a smidge:

Different cuts, colors, and styles of denim add variety:

Sweat shirts with pattern, color, and texture spice things up a bit:

Finally, skip the denim and wear a sweat shirt dress:

image

I’ll leave you with my favorite quote from the series:

The most important thing she’d learned over the years was that there was no way to be a perfect mother and a million ways to be a good one.

– Jill Churchill, Grime and Punishment

Your turn! What series have you marathoned? Or did your inspiration come from a book you slogged through? Do tell!

9 thoughts on “Thoughtful Third Thursday: March 2015

  1. mtsedwards says:

    Ahhhh! If I could click on “like” a thousand ties, I would! This is just perfect! Well, lemme take that back – this is a million ways good! Both content and catalogue of photos. Seriously, if oyu weren’t my blogging bestie, I’d totally hate you right now. Every time we have T3, you always make me feel like the overachieving Asian Honors student who slaves and plots away and comes up with this elaborate, contrived project she’d spent blood, sweat and tears on only to be trumped by the breezy, easy-going geek in the back row who submits brilliance effortlessly.

    And ow I go to put these books on my queue. Will definitely need a new series to help me get over my Pollifax hangover. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      I love that I can always tell from your comments that you read the text. 🙂

      Thanks, I think. 😕 While I love being called breezily brilliant, I don’t love the slurs on your work. You always put so much thought into your work that I feel like a slacker!

      Jane isn’t as charming as Mrs. Pollifax, but the titles sure are fun! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • mtsedwards says:

        Not slurs, per se, but I do sometimes feel a bit overwrought in my pursuit of perfection. It’s why I’m rewriting the story allover again, starting with Chapter 1! I went back, reread, and began to ruthlessly slash away the bombast and florid prose. Heh. See what I did there? “Bombast and florid prose”. Who talks like me? Sheesh! ;p

        16 books will certainly keep me busy and help me make my Goodreads goal this year.

        Like

          • mtsedwards says:

            No way! Near perfection?! Well, damn. Maybe I ought not have revised. But I do think you’ll appreciate the new Chapter 2. David is so much more fleshed out. I would totally understand, though, if you’re tired of rereading bits and if you just wanted to forge ahead with the rest of the chapters instead of going back. I was thinking, in fact, of my other beta – Intrepid TA #1 aka Sarah Solar – who I MAKE reread all my revisions and if I ever do publish this, part of my dedication would say: “To Sarah Solar – just skip the rabbit”. LOL!

            Like

Leave a Reply

