TTT: Favorite Authors

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is Top Ten ALL TIME Favorite Authors.

  1. Jane Austen.  I wish more people (guys) realized just how funny Jane Austen is!  Some of her characters are absolutely ridiculous!
  2. Agatha Christie.  Poirot, the funny little Belgian detective, is such a joy!
  3. Suzanne Collins.  Everybody knows how great The Hunger Games books are, but have you read The Underland Chronicles?  She makes gigantic talking rats, bats, and cockroaches completely believable and relatable!
  4. Charles Dickens.  I haven’t read as much Dickens as I’d like to (he was quite prolific), but I’ve read enough to know that I enjoy all the twists (haha) and turns his plots take.  Also, the more Dickens I read the more I see just how much his writing has influenced pop culture.
  5. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.  My parents had a copy of The Complete Sherlock Holmes, which I positively devoured as a teenager.  I bought my own copy not long after I got married and moved out.  Doyle’s work, like Dickens’, has had a profound influence upon pop culture for the last century.
  6. C. S. Lewis.  One of my earliest memories is of my father reading aloud to me and my mother in the evenings (we didn’t get a television until I was about 7).  I recall playing with my little people on the living room floor while my dad read The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.  I’ve since read the Narnia books multiple times.  But it was a reading of Mere Christianity in college that really cemented my love for Lewis.  His great apologetic work brought into focus many of the questions I had, at the time, about my faith.
  7. Robin McKinley.  YA fantasy at it’s best!  And she has a blog!
  8. L. M. Montgomery.  It started, of course, with Anne of Green Gables, but I devoured everything she wrote when I was a teen!
  9. Lemony Snicket.  I know I’m way too old for Snicket’s work, but I absolutely love his dark humor!  I bought and read the entire Series of Unfortunate Events well before my children were old enough for them.  This is a great example of a film leading me to a book!
  10. J. R. R. Tolkien.  Fantasy is one of my favorite literary genres, and Tolkien is king!  Surprisingly, I came to his works rather late – in my early 20s, but I did read all of the Lord of the Rings books before I knew about the movies being made.

 

I’m linking up: Top Ten Tuesday

 

25 thoughts on “TTT: Favorite Authors

  1. Susan (Bloggin' 'bout Books) says:

    Great list! Little people were my favorite toys as a child as well. I’ve only read the first book in the Chronicles of Narnia series, but I loved it. I also really enjoyed THE SCREWTAPE LETTERS. My husband and I recently saw THE GREAT DIVORCE on stage and now I think I need to read that one. I definitely have a lot of catching up to do when it comes to C.S. Lewis.

    Happy TTT!

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      So, have you read The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (publication order) or The Magician’s Nephew (re-ordered “chronologically”)? I want to try Lewis’ Space Trilogy as I’m trying to branch out into Sci Fi (I watch a TON of Sci Fi, but I don’t read much).

      Like

  2. BookishIlluminations says:

    We have many of the same authors! And yes, I love C.S. Lewis’s nonfiction too–I think it’s been so influential for so many people over the years. I loved visiting the Kilns in Oxford and also the Eagle and Child Pub where Lewis hung out with Tolkien! Agatha Christie is another author I could have included!

    Like

  3. Dagny says:

    It’s so nice to see some of the older authors on the list! They may not be my favorites, but I enjoyed them enough to read most of their works. My favorites include Balzac and Zola.

    Like

  4. rudejasper says:

    We have some pretty good overlap and there on a few on here that came close to being included (Dickens). I literally just finished Gregor the Overlander 2 hours ago. I loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

