TTT: Favorite Books of 2015 (So Far)

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is Books I’ve Read So Far In 2015. Here are my 5 Star books of 2015 (excluding re-reads). Oddly, with the exception of #5, these are all children’s books. I guess reading with my kids heightens my enjoyment of books. 🙂

  1. The Magna Carta by Roberta Baxter
  2. Bink & Gollie by Kate DiCamillo, Alison McGhee, and Tony Fucile
  3. Zita the Spacegirl series by Ben Hatke
  4. Mustache Baby series by Bridget Heos and Joy Ang
  5. Devoted by Jennifer Matthieu
  6. The Book of Dragons by E. Nesbit
  7. Icky Bug Colors by Jerry Pallotta and David Biedryzycki
  8. A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park
  9. John, Paul, George & Ben by Lane Smith
  10. Elephant and Piggie series and the Pigeon series by Mo Willems

At Dagny’s suggestion in the comments, I’ve added my children’s favorites of the year. Some of these I read with / to them. Others they read on their own:

Sweet Potato, age 6:

  1. Superman Family Adventures series by Art Baltazar (My rating: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ )
  2. A Bear Called Paddington by Michael Bond (My rating: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ )
  3. Zita the Spacegirl series by Ben Hatke (She agreed with me!)
  4. Fashion Kitty series by Charise Mericle Harper (My rating: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ )
  5. Cleopatra in Space series by Mike Maihack (My rating: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ )

Pumpkin Pie, age 9:

  1. LEGO Hero Factory: Secret Mission #1: The Doom Box by Greg Farshtey
    (I have not read this book)
  2. A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park (Yay! He agreed with me on a book we read for school!)
  3. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling
    (My rating: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Re-read)
  4. Shouldn’t You Be in School? by Lemony Snicket (My rating: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ )
  5. The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien (My rating: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Re-read)

I’m linking up: Top Ten Tuesday

13 thoughts on “TTT: Favorite Books of 2015 (So Far)

  1. BookishIlluminations says:

    Zita the Space Girl looks fun! I’m glad you added your kids’ favorites too. And I’m so glad to hear you loved Devoted and I’ll be stalking your blog tomorrow to read your post about it!! 😀

    Like

  2. rudejasper says:

    Sadly, I don’t have much call to read children’s books. I already feel kind of creepy going into the YA and middle grade sections in the library, lol. It’s fun that reading with your kids ups the fun of a book! Nice unique list!

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      Yeah, knowing that a lot of my readers don’t read children’s books made me feel a little weird about this list. At least it’s unique. 😉 If you enjoy MG, I’d highly recommend A Single Shard. It’s historical fiction about a potter in 12th century Korea, inspired by the Thousand Cranes Vase:

      Like

Leave a Reply

