TTT: Last Ten Books That Came Into My Possession

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is Last Ten Books That Came Into My Possession (bought, library, review copies). I’m a BIG library girl, so I’m going to modify it to be specifically books I own.

   

  1. The Rook by Daniel O’Malley (paperback – bought)
  2. Lord of the Flies by William Golding (free eAudio via SYNC)
  3. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier (free eAudio via SYNC)
  4. The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker (paperback – Mother’s Day gift)
  5. The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling (hardback – Mother’s Day gift)
  6. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows (hardback – bought used at a library book sale)
  7. The Tower, The Zoo, and The Tortoise by Julia Stuart (hardback – bought used at a library book sale)
  8. The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins (hardback – won in a giveaway via Katie @ Bookish Illuminations)
  9. Landline by Rainbow Rowell (hardback – bought from a bookstore clearance rack)
  10. The Secret of the Old Clock by Carolyn Keene (hardback – bought used at a library book sale)

Bonus! Books I have on pre-order:

    

  1. Stiletto by Daniel O’Malley
  2. Career of Evil by Robert Gailbraith
  3. Why Is This Night Different from All Other Nights? by Lemony Snicket?

I’m linking up: Top Ten Tuesday

28 thoughts on “TTT: Last Ten Books That Came Into My Possession

  1. Fariba says:

    The Casual Vacancy was good, but definitely an adult book. Lord of the Flies was the book that first introduced me to imagery. I will always be grateful to my 8th grade English for teaching me how to analyze imagery in Lord of the Flies.I have a copy of Woman in White. If you are ever interested in doing a buddy read, we could 🙂

    Like

  2. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    The Rook looks excellent and I have been eyeing for quite a while! Love your list, all look like very interesting books.

    Like

  3. Dagny says:

    I read Lord of the Flies probably forty or so years ago and loved it. I’m wondering how it would fare if I read it now. Don’t remember it, but I’m sure I read The Secret of the Old Clock. I read all the Nancy Drew stories I could get my hands on back in the fifties. As you know, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society is on my TBR list!

    I have a Teaser Tuesday this week for the 13th Harry Bosch mystery: https://madamevauquer.wordpress.com/2015/07/14/the-overlook-by-michael-connelly/

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      The Secret of the Old Clock is the very first Nancy Drew. I bought it for Cruisin’ Through the Cozies because I’d never read a Nancy Drew mystery before! It was fine, but I probably would’ve loved it if I’d read it 25 years ago.
      I’m so excited for you to read Guernsey!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dagny says:

        Yes, I’m sure I enjoyed Nancy much more then than I would now. You can save it for your kids – or is it too tame for them? I see the children’s literature now and so much of it is magic and fantasy.

        Like

          • Dagny says:

            Ha, indeed. The Hardy Boys might be more up his alley. Myself, I didn’t care much for them – strictly a gender thing I’m sure. Miss Marple might be too old for him, besides being female, but she’s got some goodies, as I’m sure you know.

            Like

  4. BookishIlluminations says:

    I still have to get my post up for today! Too much going on–and I was ill yesterday! Eeek! I love that edition of The Woman in White you won. 😀 I have The Golem and the Djinni must read soon. Love The Potato Peel Society. One of my favorites and I met Annie Barrows at ALA recently and got her new book signed! The Secret of the Old Clock will always be one of my favorites of Nancy Drew.

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      Oh, I’m sorry you were sick! The Woman in White is SO good! I actually switched back and forth between the hardback, ebook, and eaudio formats, depending on when / where I was reading! I want to try some of Annie Barrows’ other books with my kids.

      Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      If you’re a fan of Victorian novels and / or Gothic novels (Charles Dickens, Anthony Trollope, the Brontes) then I would highly recommend The Woman in White! If more contemporary books are your thing and you like The Hunger Games and / or The Maze Runner, give The Lord of the Flies a shot. It’s a forerunner of those types of stories.

      Like

  5. Sophia says:

    The Golem and the Jinni is a fantastic novel. I adore it. It’s full of cultural exploration and fantastical beings and everyday life.
    Woman in White is also another of my favorites. Wilkie Collins is awesome – and I’m also kind of in love with that edition. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      I’ve heard so many good things about The Golem and the Jinni. A bunch of my library holds just came in, so I need to read those first, but it’s on my 20 Books of Summer Challenge, so I will get to it soon. 🙂
      The Woman in White is excellent! The next time TTT does villains, I will be sure to include Count Fosco – he is diabolical. I was so lucky to win this edition!

      Like

  6. rudejasper says:

    The library book sale is always dangerous to my book piles! I’ve also enjoyed taking advantage of some of the Sync downloads this summer though I haven’t had a chance to read any of them yet. Was Rebecca and Lord of the Flies the only two you downloaded? I love that copy of A Woman in White!

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      Library book sales and bookstore clearance racks – I’ve got a book haul post tomorrow because I went to BAM last week!

      I haven’t been particularly interested in a lot of the SYNC offerings this year. Plus, most of the ones I am interested in (usually the classics) are readily available from my library’s digital collection. I listened to Rebecca already – it was excellent!

      I rarely enter giveaways but I’ve been wanting a copy of The Woman in White. I was shocked when I actually won!

      Like

Leave a Reply

