Birthday Presents!

You might remember that my birthday was last Saturday. Well, I got a lot of books and bookish presents – woohoo!

From my husband:

Jane Austen Made Me Do It: Original Stories Inspired by Literature’s Most Astute Observer of the Human Heart
Jane Austen Bandages
Metal Feather Bookmark
Rebecca

Bought for myself with birthday money:

A Knot in the Grain and Other Stories by Robin McKinley
Baby-sitting Is a Dangerous Job by Willo Davis Roberts
Stitching Snow and Spinning Starlight by R. C. Lewis

Saving for later:

image

I’ve got some Old Navy Super Cash that I can use in September, so I’m saving my gift card til then. 😀

17 thoughts on “Birthday Presents!

  1. mtsedwards says:

    And a belated happy birthday to you, my friend. I hope your kiddos spoiled you rotten by allowing you a sleep-in day? And did Bert do the laundry and cook you a fabulous birthday meal? That’s always what I want for my birthday from my fam. 😀

    Stitching Snow looks intriguing but I wonder if my bias for Cinder, et. al. will prevent me from truly loving it? The first review on Goodreads for Spinning Starlight isn’t all that positive either.

    The metal feather bookmark, I covet!

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      Bert didn’t do laundry but he made me an omelet for breakfast and took me out for lunch and dinner. I did absolutely nothing, except attend Pumpkin Pie’s martial arts belt test. I love doing nothing. 😉

      I loved Stitching Snow, which is why I bought myself a copy. The heroine is pretty tough and she has 7 quirky droid sidekicks, instead of just one like Cinder. I don’t bother with Goodreads reviews before reading (unless one of my friends has written a review). I will read them afterwards if I want my own impressions confirmed / refuted.

      Like

  2. Alison's Wonderland Recipes says:

    Happy birthday! My birthday is in October, and my family/friends are starting ask what I want. I never have any idea what I want (beyond the general books, tea, and chocolate), so I’m actually thinking of doing a post to ask my readers what I should ask for!

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      My husband asked me what I wanted and I requested Jane Austen Made Me Do It and Rebecca (which I originally forgot to put in the post!). He came up with the bandages and bookmark on his own. 🙂
      I often request jewelry – sometimes a specific piece, sometimes I just give a vague description like “purple bracelet”. It seems to be easier on my husband than clothes because there’s not as much worry about fit.

      Like

  3. Billy says:

    OH!!! I can’t wait for a review on “Jane Austen Made Me Do It”, I’d forgotten how much I really want to read it. Just put Jane Austen in a book title and I’ll buy it! Haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

