TTT: Favorite Author Readalikes

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is Top Ten Books To Read If You Like This Super Popular Book/Author (ie: you could list 10 different popular/bestselling books or authors with readalike suggestions for each or give 10 books for one best-selling/popular book or author like 10 authors to read if you like John Green or ten books to read if you like Gone Girl. Idea is to give good readalikes that may be less well known).

I decided to take my Favorite Authors post and give you readalikes for each:

                        

  1. Jane Austen.  If you love Austen’s novel of manners, try Anthony Trollope’s Chronicles of Barsetshire.
  2. Agatha Christie.  It’s hard to imagine running out of Christie’s works, but if it happens, try Dorothy L. Sayers’ Peter Wimsey and Harriet Vane series.
  3. Suzanne Collins.  If you love Collins’ strong heroine, but are sick of love triangles, try Garth Nix’s Abhorsen series.
  4. Charles Dickens.  Dickens and his friend Wilkie Collins are both must reads!
  5. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.  Can’t get enough of Sherlock Holmes? Try Nancy Springer’s Enola Holmes mysteries about his intrepid little sister.
  6. C. S. Lewis.  Are plucky kids on magical adventures your favorite? Try Marianne Malone’s Sixty-Eight Rooms series. Bonus if you can visit the real rooms in Chicago!
  7. Robin McKinley.  McKinley is the master of fairytale retellings and R. C. Lewis is following in her illustrious footsteps.
  8. L. M. Montgomery.  Do you ever long for a modern Anne of Green Gables? Try Jeanne Birdsall’s Penderwick series.
  9. Lemony Snicket.  If you love stories about precocious children, try Edward Ormondroyd’s Time at the Top and All In Good Time.
  10. J. R. R. Tolkien.  Tolkien is the king of high fantasy, and T. H. White writes about King Arthur.

                            

I’m linking up: Top Ten Tuesday

 

Advertisements

25 thoughts on “TTT: Favorite Author Readalikes

  1. amyh90 says:

    Great post! I’ve read a few of your favourite authors, and the recommendations you’ve listed (that I’ve read) I totally agree with! This is actually really handy because of the variety 😀 I love that you’ve got a range of authors here (including Dickens!!!)
    Have a great day,
    Amy x

    Like

  2. rudejasper says:

    Looks like I need to try out some R.C. Lewis! I’m also intrigued by the Penderwicks because who doesn’t want more Anne Shirley like shenanigans? I like how a number of your picks work as alternates for your authors but for younger readers!

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      Lewis is new, her second book just came out yesterday (and I started it this morning 🙂 ). Sometimes I feel daunted when I want to try an author but they have 20+ books. Where do I start? So, it’s nice to find someone who’s just starting out.

      The Penderwicks are SO much fun! I read so much MG with the kids that it’s bound to be on my TTTs, but everything I’ve recommended here is worth reading for adults too. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s