Blogging Besties: Top Knot

Last week, Whitney looked ultra-cool and casual in her all-neutrals outfit.
I especially loved her pretty top knot. Since the sock bun (or the shame puff, as some on the Interwebs would call it) is one of my favorite hairstyles, I chose to pass on that element in my own outfit! I think a sock bun/top knot looks especially cool with fancy, glam outfits–it is elegant while keeping the hair up and out of the way to show off fun, feminine details (like my necklace in the outfit below.)
Folks, I had such big plans for this outfit. The juxtaposition of masculine and feminine! The midi skirt! THE WINTER GLAM! I laid it out the night before, spent all this time getting ready to shoot the outfit, but once I got outside to take photos, I met the front end of a snowstorm. So despite my best efforts, the ice started sticking to everything–most importantly, the camera lens (and it messed up my bangs, to boot.) Once I went to look at the photos on my computer, I realized that most of the photos were unusable because of the snowflakes on the lens. I thought about trashing all the photos and starting from scratch with a new outfit tomorrow, but I liked this outfit so much that I decided to just use this one photo I salvaged and leave it at that. So, never mind my wonky bangs and ice spots and just enjoy the outfit! 😀
For Maricel next week, the elements of this outfit are: topknot, buffalo plaid, midi skirt, strappy heels, clutch, and winter glam!

 

Shirt: Old Navy (similarsimilarsimilar)
Skirt: Forever XXI (similarsimilarsimilar)
Heels: BCBG Maxazria via TJ Maxx (similarsimilarsimilar)
Necklace: J. Crew (similarsimilarsimilar)
 
Featured On:
Leave a Reply

