TTT: Audiobooks

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is Freebie Week! Pick a topic near and dear to your heart! Something you wished was on our official list!

I fell in love with audiobooks in 2015. Some books are particularly good in audio format, whether it’s something about the writing, or just a great narrator. Here are 10 of my favorites:

ONE. Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan, narrated by Ari Fliakos

Any book that includes this quote is meant for audio!

When you read a book, the story definitely happens inside your head. When you listen, it seems to happen in a little cloud all around it, like a fuzzy cap pulled down over your eyes . . .
– Robin Sloan, Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore

TWO. The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo, narrated by Graeme Malcolm

DiCamillo knew so well that her story was meant to be read aloud that she allowed the audiobook producers to change the many references to the “reader” into “listener”.

THREE. The Mysterious Howling by Maryrose Wood, narrated by Katherine Kellgren

Kellgren’s vocalizations for the 3 children are completely hilarious and wonderful!

FOUR. Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis, narrated by Mia Barron

I just loved the way Barron read the drone’s voices.

FIVE. The Rook by Daniel O’Malley, narrated by Susan Duerden

Duerdan’s voice is just lovely and soothing, even though the story is exciting. Something about that juxtaposition spoke to me.

SIX. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, narrated by Sissy Spacek

This one was a little different as Spacek just read the book without doing voices for the different characters. It was like listening to your Mama read a bedtime story.

SEVEN. Rebel Belle series by Rachel Hawkins, narrated by Amy Rubinate

These books are uproariously funny, and Rubinate’s Southern Belle accent was spot on.

EIGHT. Hamish Macbeth series by M.C. Beaton, narrated by Shaun Grindell

I read the first Hamish Macbeth mystery in print and I didn’t love it, but I’ve listened to a bunch of the others and the Scottish accents just make them fun!

NINE. Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

When the author is a fabulously funny actress, she should totally narrate her own book!

TEN. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White

Even non actor authors sometimes read their own books, and it’s wonderful.

I’m linking up: Top Ten Tuesday

13 thoughts on “TTT: Audiobooks

  1. Holly says:

    I read The Rook a few years ago and absolutely LOVED it, but I never thought of listening to the audiobook. I should! I really want the sequel to come out ASAP– I think it’s been in the works for a year or two now, but I don’t know if there is an actual release date yet.
    Anyways, great TTT!

    Like

  2. Inkeri says:

    I’ve read Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore and I can imagine it’s a great audiobook as well. I personally think that audiobooks can give some books the certain extra feel to it with the correct narrator. I might have to listen to this one someday.

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      I love to listen to audiobooks with my kids, because the narrators do a better job than I do of reading aloud, 😆 . Since I discovered that my library has digital audiobooks, I’ve been listening to even more. I particularly love them for re-reads (like Mr. Penumbra) and my beloved cozy mysteries.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

