TTT: The Thrill Is Gone (or Grown)

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is “Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed (less love, more love, complicated feelings, indifference, thought it was great in a genre until you became more well read in that genre etc.)”

  1. The Hannah Swensen series by Joanne Fluke. The quality of this series has been dropping for awhile, but the most recent book is a real clunker.
  2. The Aunt Dimity series by Nancy Atherton. I loved the first 3 books in this series, but the 4th and 5th books were dire disappointments.
  3. Beauty by Sheri S. Tepper. This book was amazing when I was a teen, but when I tried to re-read it, I had to DNF. I think I’ve become more squeamish.
  4. A Tangled Web by L. M. Montgomery. I loved everything Montgomery in high school, but now I can see that this book is full of spite, selfishness, and instalove.
  5. The Emily series by L. M. Montgomery. Emily is no Anne.
  6. Mechanica by Betsy Cornwell. I loved this book SO MUCH! One of my closest blogging friends was less than impressed. I want to re-read, but I’m scared. What if I don’t love it anymore?
  7. The Rook by Daniel O’Malley. This book has grown in my estimation since I finished it. I can’t wait to re-read in anticipation of Stiletto!
  8. The Blue Castle by L. M. Montgomery. My favorite non-Anne Montgomery gets better with each re-read!

I’m linking up:Top Ten Tuesday

 

12 thoughts on “TTT: The Thrill Is Gone (or Grown)

  1. rudejasper says:

    I like how your list goes from negative to positive:). I was a little worried when I saw The Rook on there but phew… glad it hasn’t lost its shine yet. I should re-read in preparation for the Stiletto! I’m sad to here about the Aunt Dimity series as that’s a cozy series I enjoy – though I can’t remember how far I’ve gotten in it. I do know that the books have been a little up and down for me with the first book being my favorite. Although I did really enjoy one that was all flashback? Was that a thing or am I making that up?

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      Haha, sorry I worried you! The Rook is awesome!

      The 2nd Aunt Dimity was a flashback to Lori’s neighbors’ love story. That was probably my favorite. Once Lori got married and had babies, the series went downhill fast, IMO. The way the author portrayed motherhood made me wonder if she’d ever been around a baby (Toys strewn all over the floor when the kids are only 2 months old? Solid food being given to babies under 6 months? She fared better with elementary age kids). It also drove me nuts that Lori repeatedly had crushes on multiple men that were not her husband.

      Like

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    I totally get the fear of not wanting to reread in case you don’t like it so much!! collapses in a puddle of uncertainty ME TOO. I avoid so many books because I do have super good memories but I don’t want that to change with a reread. hehe. (I do want to try Mechanica someday though!!) Here’s my TTT!

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      I tend to second guess my love for a book when I read negative reviews by friends / reviewers I respect. Funnily, it doesn’t work the other way. If I hate something, no amount of praise will make me change my mind. I’m stubborn like that. 😜
      Mechanica was the first (and so far only) Steampunk that I loved. It was also the first decidedly feminist retelling that I’ve read. So, for me, it was a double revelation!
      Also, I tend to ❤ world building and character development, and I’m very detail oriented. My friend who didn’t like Mechanica loves plot driven, action fueled stories. Yin and yang.

      Like

Leave a Reply

