Mini Reviews (15) – Popsugar Reading Challenge

Most of my reading challenges for 2016 are personal ones, involving books that I would normally read. I wanted to stretch myself, so I decided to do the Popsugar Reading Challenge.

The Road by Cormac McCarthy
⭐ ⭐
I don’t give 1 Star ratings. 1 Star means I DNF’d a book, and if I DNF’d I just delete the book from my shelves. I finished this book, hated it, and am rating it 2 stars.

I read The Road for the category “A book from Oprah’s Book Club”. Most of the Oprah books don’t appeal to me at all. The few that do, I’ve already read. So, I went for something that I thought I might, maybe, enjoy. Nope.

Repetitive, redundant, ridiculous.

I liked the bleak setting – it reminded me of Daniel Woodrell’s Winter’s Bone.

I didn’t like the sudden appearance of BUTTER, EGGS, and CREAM in a seemingly 8+ year old apocalyptic world. What?!? I know there are such things as powdered eggs and dairy products, but that wasn’t specified, so I was left wondering if I’d missed something (I didn’t, I checked).

Ugh. At least it’s over.

Carpe Demon by Julie Kenner
⭐ ⭐ 1/2
I read this book for the category “A book with a protagonist who has your occupation” According to Wikipedia, “The phrase soccer mom generally refers to a married middle-class woman who lives in the suburbs and has school age children”. This applies equally to Kate Conner and me (neither of us have children who actually play soccer).

The book was OK, I guess. It’s not particularly funny, as the cover / blurb led me to believe. It’s also about twice as long as it needed to be. Kate is kind of crap at both demon hunting AND soccer momming.

The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman, Illustrated by Chris Riddell
⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Read for the graphic novel category. Okay, I gave Mr. Gaiman another shot. Once again, my reaction is a resounding “Meh”. I neither loved it or hated it. Read my review of Stardust.

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Read for the category “New York Times bestseller”. Atwood painstaking builds a terrifying world and then almost nothing happens and the book ends. I LOVE world building and info dumps don’t bother me, but a plot is a good thing too.

What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen
⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Super cute YA – perfect for when I need a break from my heavier book (The Handmaid’s Tale). I chose it because it’s set in my home state (one of the Popsugar categories). 🙂 I will definitely read more Dessen. 

Holes by Louis Sacher
⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Chosen because it won the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature (1998). This MG story is chock full of Dickensian style coincidences. It’s dark and fun. I’ll be passing it on to my 10 year old son. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Mini Reviews (15) – Popsugar Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

