Mini Reviews (19) – Recent Random Reads

  1. One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid
    ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 1/2
    Taylor Jenkins Reid is a talented writer, obviously observant of human emotion, and quite masterful at ripping her readers’ hearts into tiny pieces. I cried. A LOT. 
  2. Oh Yeah, Audrey! by Tucker Shaw
    ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
    This wasn’t what I was expecting. I expected teen chick lit – fluffy, frothy, candy floss. This was more – it touched on grief, bullying, cyber bullying, loyalty, honesty, sexpectations, and friendship.
  3. Six-Gun Snow White by Catherynne M. Valente
    ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
    A decent retelling, but too weird for my tastes.
  4. Kilmeny of the Orchard by L. M. Montgomery
    ⭐ ⭐
    I hate to give an L. M. Montgomery book a low rating, but good grief, this was bad! Full of racism, superstition, and sexism, with nothing to redeem it.
  5. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
    ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 1/2
    The first half is incredibly dull. I kept wondering HOW a book about a POW being tortured could be so boring. The back half was much more interesting, and explained a lot about the beginning. It’s definitely worth reading, but not one I’d ever bother to re-read.
4 thoughts on “Mini Reviews (19) – Recent Random Reads

  1. Holly says:

    I’ve never read anything by Taylor Jenkins Reid, but I’ll have to check her out based on your mini review! One True Loves sounds really intriguing and dramatic– that poor main character! What a nightmare to be living!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Aww, I’m sad you didn’t like Code Name Verity! Although I DO agree the first half was excruciatingly boring. I actually originally DNF’d it (omg shaaaame) and then went back and listened to it via audio and that was the BEST DECISION OF MY LIFE. the narrator was perfection and the accents were incredible and it just made the whole book perfect. XD If you try Rose Under Fire I totally recommend the audio for that too! 😀
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

