TTT: Villains, Antiheroes, and Villains?

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is “All About The Villains.”

I’ve written a post about favorite villains before, so I’m going to give you a few more, plus some antiheroes, and some characters that *may* be villains:

*****WARNING – SPOILERS AHEAD*****

  1. Miss Trunchbull – Matilda by Roald Dahl. She’s just a huge bully!
  2. Sauron – The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien. He’s the disembodiment of pure evil.
  3. Ames – Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen. Ames is a creepy, creepy, creepster. His interactions with Sydney were terrifyingly familiar, and a reminder to teach my daughter how to deal with unwanted male attention.
  4. Scarlett O’Hara – Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell. Scarlett is the epitome of an antiheroine – she’s a ruthless, calculating, survivor.
  5. The Beast – Beauty and the Beast by Gabrielle-Suzanne Barbot de Villeneuve. The written version of the fairy tale dates back to 1740, making the Beast the original antihero.
  6. Severus Snape – Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling. Snape’s status in the books is ever changing, is he a villain, a hero, or a tragic anti hero?
  7. Mogget – Abhorsen series by Garth Nix. Nix writes wonderfully complex characters, and Mogget is one of my favorites, even if I have no idea what he is or which side he’s on.
  8. Count Fosco – The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins. A villain so charming, you’ll love him in spite of yourself.
  9. Mrs. Danvers – Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier. Usually it’s the husband who gaslights his wife, but in this case, it’s the housekeeper.
  10. The Grafters –  Chequey Files series by Daniel O’Malley. When the villain is an entire organization, you know that some members will be truly villainous, while others are simply misguided.

I’m linking up:Top Ten Tuesday

 

14 thoughts on “TTT: Villains, Antiheroes, and Villains?

  1. Holly says:

    I love that you included Scarlett on this list because it completely makes sense. A lot of characters from Gone with the Wind could probably be considered antiheroes or villains– especially Rhett. The way he handled their relationship made me cringe throughout the entire ending!
    Also, THREE CHEERS for including the Grafters!! I meant to add them to my list as well but I couldn’t remember what they were called off the top of my head. I definitely need to reread The Rook!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dagny says:

    Count Fosco (and his little white mouse) was my favorite part of The Woman in White! Not a particular fan of that book, although I enjoy Collins’ books in general.

    Like

  3. rudejasper says:

    I love so many of the “villains” on your list! Mogget, Snape, Scarlett O’Hara – I love these complicated characters. Mrs. Danvers on the other hand is truly disturbing. She gives me the shivers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

