Mini Reviews (29) – Halloween Agatha Christies

16307Hallowe’en Party
⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 1/2
It’s not perfect (it reminded me a bit too much of Dead Man’s Folly) but it’s excellent. There’s a great Halloween atmosphere, but not so much that it couldn’t be enjoyed anytime of year. The body count is exceptionally high, even for Christie! There was just enough Mrs. Oliver and not quite enough Poirot (there can never be enough Poirot to suit me!).

12087370

The Pale Horse
⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 1/2
This one was extremely enjoyable! I read it with @officialagathachristie on Instagram, as their book of the month. It was absolutely *perfect* for October! I loved all the Macbeth references, as I am currently studying Macbeth with my children. I have read this one before, 5 or 6 years ago (when it was conscripted for the Marple TV series), but I’d apparently forgotten much of it, because I was surprised at the identity of the murderer. I also loved the anecdote which became the entire premise for my next read:
19013038 By the Pricking of My Thumbs
⭐ ⭐ ⭐
The mystery was excellent, with lots of twists and turns, but I don’t understand the characterization of Tuppence. First she can take of herself and is always “all right”, and then she needs rescuing. Which is it?

19275846

Spider’s Web novelisation by Cahrles Osborne
⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 1/2
Clarissa explains it all! Sorry, I couldn’t resist. ;P
I’m sure this was a fabulous play! Osborne did a better job with the adaptation than with Black Coffee. It was interesting to see plot points from other Christie mysteries mixed together here.

7 thoughts on “Mini Reviews (29) – Halloween Agatha Christies

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      I’ve been making my way through all of Agatha Christie’s books for the past few years (I’ll probably finish next year). Most are re-reads (including Hallowe’en Party), but I’ve found a few that I’ve missed along the way. Hallowe’en Party is great as a re-read! The only time I’m disappointed in Agatha Christie is when a book is romance heavy, because she was not good at writing romance (probably Archie Christie’s fault).

      Like

  1. Alison's Wonderland Recipes says:

    I love Hallowe’en Party! I made a tea for it last year on my blog when I made my Christie menu. I’ve never heard of The Pale Horse, though (which surprises me, since I thought I’d heard of ALL her books!). I just checked to see if my library has it—totally picking it up next time I’m there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

