TTT: New To Me In 2016

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is “Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016”

I’m linking up:Top Ten Tuesday

 

Advertisements

17 thoughts on “TTT: New To Me In 2016

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      I listened to My Lady Jane on audio because the narrator, Katherine Kellgren, is one of my favorites. I loved it! I’d highly recommend it, especially for fans of The Princess Bride or Monty Python.

      Ink and Bone is amazing! Alt history, steampunk, and LOTS of books – perfect combo!

      Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      These are all 4.5 – 5 star books for me, so choosing a favorite is HARD! Knowing your love of Agatha Christie, I’d definitely recommend the Sophie Hannah Poirot books. Monogram Murders was just OK for me, but Closed Casket was very good.

      How do you feel about The Princess Bride? If you love it (book and / or movie), I’d recommend My Lady Jane.

      Like

  1. Lark @ The Bookwyrm's Hoard says:

    Oh, what a great list! Ink and Bone is on my to-read list, as is Closed Casket. I just bought Rivers of London (or rather, Midnight Riot, which I gather is the same book under a different title.) Starflight and The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency both look intriguing, so I’ll be checking them out.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rudejasper says:

    Yay for Ben Aaronovitch! I was at first totally confused by the book with the big Agatha Christie splashed across it because I KNOW you didn’t just discover Christie this year but then saw it was Sophie Hannah which makes much more sense. I’ve been a litle leery of these Christie fan fiction books (no idea why since I adore it with other authors). Seeing that you really liked that one has convinced me I need to give it them a chance!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      Yeah, I was too lazy this week to add commentary – sorry for the confusion. ;P The Sophie Hannah books are authorized by Agatha’s estate, which makes me more comfortable with the idea. I actually won Closed Casket in a Goodreads Giveaway, so I was “forced” into reading it, lol. The Monogram Murders was just OK, but Closed Casket is really good!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s