A Bibliophile’s Pile (3): An Audiobook for All Seasons

A Bibliophile’s Pile (as in TBR pile) is a new feature for 2017. It’s going to be very similar to my Mini Review posts, but instead of theming each post, I’m just going to list what I’ve read in the past week. Easy peasy.

Read

160943

Martin’s Big Words: The Life of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. by Doreen Rappaport, Illustrated by Bryan Collier (narrated eBook / library / with kids)
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
The perfect way to introduce young children to MLK Jr. During this part of his speech: “. . . one day . . . little black boys and black girls will be able to join hands with little white boys and white girls as sisters and brothers.” my daughter’s eyes got wide and said, “Oh, his dream came true!”
9836858

Winter’s Bone by Daniel Woodrell (audiobook / library / re-read)
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Such a powerful, difficult, but ultimately hopeful book. Woodrell’s prose is beautiful and harsh. The setting and characters are bleak and compelling. I’m glad I re-read.

6088685

Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella (eBook / library)
⭐⭐1/2
That’s it?! Rebecca Bloomwood is the most delusional, insufferable, annoying “heroine” ever, and then it just ends. Of course, there are 7 more books (ugh, why?) but I won’t be bothering. Oddly, Kinsella’s prose is extremely readable and kept me reading. Not worth it though.

17981339

Black Spring by Alison Croggon (audiobook / library)
⭐⭐1/2
A retelling of Wuthering Heights, set in a fantasy world with witches and magic, sounds awesome, right?! Unfortunately, Black Spring falls flat. The fantasy setting, witches, and magic were extremely marginalized. Most of the time I just thought I was reading a early Victorian novel. The most interesting part of Croggon’s world-building, such as it was, was the idea of Vendetta. That idea seems to have been meant to take the place of “the moor” in Wuthering Heights, adding a background of bleak despair. And then the Vendetta just ended.

image
Coronation Summer by Angela Thirkell (audiobook / library)
⭐⭐⭐1/2
Cute historical romance. It reminds me of Austen, Wilde, and Trollope, although not nearly as charming (how could it be?). Nadia May’s narration is superb, as always.

image

Talking as Fast as I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls, and Everything in Between by Lauren Graham (eBook / library – even though I totally own a physical copy)
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Absolutely superb! I laughed my butt off, teared up a few times, and gained a greater respect for Lauren. All the stars!

Challenges

GOODREADS

19 of 260

AGATHA CHRISTIE READ ALONGS

None

CLASSICS CHALLENGE

None

BACKLIST READER CHALLENGE 2017

None

CRUISIN’ THRU THE COZIES 2017

None

POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2017

A book with one of the four seasons in the title – Winter’s Bone by Daniel Woodrell, Black Spring by Alison Croggon, Coronation Summer by Angela Thirkell (I’m being an overachiever and trying for all 4 seasons).

A book about an interesting woman – Talking as Fast as I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls, and Everything in Between by Lauren Graham

A book with an eccentric character – Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

 

2 thoughts on “A Bibliophile’s Pile (3): An Audiobook for All Seasons

  1. rudejasper says:

    I think I’ll add Coronation Summer to my TBR as that looks charming!

    I’d probably characterize myself as the opposite of a shop-a-holic (shop-a-phobic? lol) so I’ve always repelled by that series. Glad that I am likely not missing out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

