A Bibliophile’s Pile (8): After After

A Bibliophile’s Pile (as in TBR pile) is a new feature for 2017. It’s going to be very similar to my Mini Review posts, but instead of theming each post, I’m just going to list what I’ve read in the past week. Easy peasy.

Read

I Survived the Eruption of Mount St. Helens, 1980 (I Survived, #14)I Survived the Eruption of Mount St. Helens, 1980 by Lauren Tarshis (audiobook / library / with kids)
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Like the other books in this series, it’s fairly realistic and extremely exciting. I didn’t like that Jess was lying (by omission) to her mother, thus putting herself in danger.

AfterwardAfterward by Jennifer Mathieu (audiobook / own)
My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

This book is rough, and beautiful. The subject matter is extremely difficult to read, especially for a mother of 2 young children, but Jennifer Mathieu handles it expertly. The pacing is perfect, with laugh out loud moments arriving at just the right moments to break the tension, and never feeling forced. I listened to the audiobook, which I won in a Goodreads giveaway (yay!). I was impressed with both narrators. They did an excellent job of voicing teenagers without sounding like they were “doing a voice”. My *only* complaint about the audiobook is that the break between discs 5 & 6 occurs right in the middle of a climactic scene!

The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #1)The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket (audiobook / library / re-read / with kids)
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

We tried various formats to re-read this book. First, the full cast audio (horrendous!), next, I read aloud (fine, but slow), and finally, the audiobook narrated by Tim Curry (superb!). This was my daughter’s first experience with the book (she’s seen the movie and television show), and she loved it!

After AliceAfter Alice by Gregory Maguire (audiobook / library)
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I think it’s funny that so many reviewers complain about this book being too “wordy” – have they not read the original Alice? Or anything by Maguire?

I enjoyed Ada’s adventures in Wonderland, but I found all the chapters about Alice’s sister Lydia boring. The way Ada leaves Wonderland is like being bludgeoned with a metaphor – it’s extremely clunky.

Overall, this was OK, but I’m not sure I would’ve read the entire book had I not been listening to Katherine Kellgren’s superlative narration.

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (eBook / library / re-read)
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Goodreads says this was my 5th read through, but I think it was my 6th or 7th. The Hunger Games is gut wrenching, and yet, I’ve read it so many times, that I find it comforting. Spending time with characters I adore is like being with my family. There is nothing new, no surprises, just the company of people I love.

Challenges

GOODREADS

53 of 260

AGATHA CHRISTIE READ ALONGS

None

CLASSICS CHALLENGE

None

BACKLIST READER CHALLENGE 2017

After Alice by Gregory Maguire

CRUISIN’ THRU THE COZIES 2017

None

POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2017

An audiobook – After Alice by Gregory Maguire
A book about a difficult topic – Afterward by Jennifer Mathieu

One thought on “A Bibliophile’s Pile (8): After After

  1. rudejasper says:

    I bet Tim Curry would be a brilliant narrator for a Series of Unfortunate Events! Glad that finally worked. I do like Maguire’s books and am intrigued by After Alice and excited that it is read by Katherine Kellgren. Despite your lackluster review I may check it out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

