A Bibliophile’s Pile (12): I Can’t Think of a Title

A Bibliophile’s Pile (as in TBR pile) is a new feature for 2017. It’s going to be very similar to my Mini Review posts, but instead of theming each post, I’m just going to list what I’ve read in the past week. Easy peasy.

Read

 
I Survived Hurricane Katrina, 2005I Survived Hurricane Katrina, 2005 by Lauren Tarshis (audiobook / library / with kids)
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This one was almost as difficult for me as the 9/11 one. As an 11 year old, I experienced Hurricane Hugo, which came almost 200 miles inland to devastate my hometown of Charlotte, NC. Although the damage wasn’t nearly as extreme as Katrina, it was a terrifying time, and this book brought those feelings to the surface. Tarshis did an excellent job of capturing the emotions of Katrina survivors.

The Case of the Counterfeit CriminalsThe Case of the Counterfeit Criminals by Jordan Stratford (audiobook / library / with kids)
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I loved all the Sherlock Holmes references, and the alt history is fun for me. I think it’s a bit confusing for the target age group.

Frogkisser!Frogkisser! by Garth Nix (physical / library)
My rating: 4-1/2 of 5 stars

I found this charming, and I will be purchasing a copy for my home library. I think both of my children will enjoy it, and it will be a wonderful introduction to Nix, since they’re too young for the Old Kingdom books. Anya, a. k. a. Frogkisser, and her motley crew are off on a quest! With plenty of nods to (and twists on) traditional fairytales and legends, their adventures are sure to delight fantasy lovers young and old!

The Singing Bone (Dr. Thorndyke Mysteries, #5)The Singing Bone by R. Austin Freeman (eBook / library)
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Thorndyke and Jervis are basically CSI: Baker Street. The interesting part of these stories (and the reason I read them) is that most of them are inverted. That is, the reader fully witnesses the commitment of the crime. I found the criminals much more compelling than the detectives.

Exclamation MarkExclamation Mark by Amy Krouse Rosenthal (physical / library)
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I read this on my son’s recommendation, and it is delightful!

Last Wool and Testament (A Haunted Yarn Shop Mystery, #1)Last Wool and Testament by Molly MacRae (audiobook / library)
My rating: 3-1/2 of 5 stars

A decent start to a Cozy series. This falls into both the Crafting and Paranormal categories of Cozies. Neither is my usual fare, and it was nice to try something new. I enjoyed the characters and the plot enough to try another book or two in the series.

Rose DaughterRose Daughter by Robin McKinley (audiobook / library / re-read)
My rating: 3-1/2 of 5 stars

As much as I love Robin McKinley, this isn’t my favorite of her books. I love the strong relationship between Beauty and her sisters, but their father is an afterthought who only seems to be there for the requisite rose stealing scene. I love all the animal scenes (I’m not an animal person IRL, but McKinley and Garth Nix write *the best* animals and make me wish I was). I felt like the Beast was sidelined to the point where it was unclear *why* Beauty loved him (pity, sure, but not love). The climatic scene at the end was just confusing.

At Bertram's Hotel: A Miss Marple MysteryAt Bertram’s Hotel by Agatha Christie (physical / own)
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Definitely one of the better Miss Marple mysteries I’ve read (probably because Miss Marple is barely in it). The actual protaginist is Chief Inspector Davy, aka Father, who is quite suspicious of Bertram’s Hotel. The story is so intricately plotted, it’s like watching a spider spin a web. The characters, including Miss Marple, are largely unlikeable. I *thought* I had read this one before, but I had absolutely no memory of the story, at all, so I guess not.

Big Mushy Happy Lump (Sarah's Scribbles, #2)Big Mushy Happy Lump by Sarah Andersen (eBook / library)
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The ebook from my library was weird – I had to swipe the wrong way to turn the pages. Is this supposed to be like Manga?
Not as funny as her first book, and I’ve seen quite a few of the comics on Instagram, but still fun. “On the bag” definitely got a big laugh!

Challenges

GOODREADS

81 of 260

AGATHA CHRISTIE READ ALONGS

At Bertram’s Hotel by Agatha Christie

CLASSICS CHALLENGE

At Bertram’s Hotel by Agatha Christie

BACKLIST READER CHALLENGE 2017

 At Bertram’s Hotel by Agatha Christie

CRUISIN’ THRU THE COZIES 2017

Craft related – Last Wool and Testament by Molly MacRae

POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2017

A book involving travel – Frogkisser! by Garth Nix

A book with pictures – Big Mushy Happy Lump by Sarah Andersen

A book set in a hotel – At Bertram’s Hotel by Agatha Christie

A book from a genre/subgenre that you’ve never heard of – The Singing Bone by R. Austin Freeman

Leave a Reply

