A Bibliophile’s Pile (14): April Already?

Read

The Thin ManThe Thin Man by Dashiell Hammett (audiobook / library)
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was disappointing. Given that the book is usually better, I assumed this would be better than the film. It’s not. David Niven and Myrna Loy MADE Nick and Nora Charles.

Persuading AnniePersuading Annie by Melissa Nathan (physical / library)
My rating: 2.75 of 5 stars

Well, it was better than the other Persuasion retelling I’ve read . . . but it wasn’t great. Everyone kept saying how wonderful Annie was, but there was exactly zero evidence that it was true. Whereas, Anne Elliot is patently sublime.

Also, this:

I can’t bear it any longer. I can hear everything your’e saying through the intercom-and it’s like a dagger in my soul. have I ballsed it all up?

Does NOT compare to this:

I can listen no longer in silence. I must speak to you by such means as are within my reach. You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope. Tell me not that I am too late, that such precious feelings are gone for ever.

I Survived the Joplin Tornado, 2011: Book 12 of the I Survived SeriesI Survived the Joplin Tornado, 2011 by Lauren Tarshis (audiobook / library / with kids)
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This particular I Survived book scared my kids more than any other.

 

A Very Brave WitchA Very Brave Witch by Alison McGhee (physical / library / with kids)
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Cute Halloween story with lots of hidden gems in the illustrations. I’ve no idea why my daughter wanted to read a Halloween book today, but, then again, my son has been listening to Christmas music lately, so, whatever, I just went with it.

A Girl from YamhillA Girl from Yamhill by Beverly Cleary (eBook / library / re-read)
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I love memoirs and autobiographies, and this is one of the best! It’s obvious that Cleary’s most beloved creation, Ramona Quimby, is herself as a child, but Ramona has the happy home life that Cleary longed for. The many passages about Cleary’s turbulent relationship with her mother are heart wrenching. They make me want to hug my own little girl and never let go.

NOTE: The chapter “Uncle Joe” is not for young children to read alone. Read with a parent, it would be a great way to open up a conversation about harassment and abuse. To a lesser extent, the later chapters that focus on Beverly’s dating life aren’t kid friendly either, but would provide an opening for conversations about toxic relationships.

Magic Tree House Fact Tracker #35: Dragons and Mythical CreaturesMagic Tree House Fact Tracker #35: Dragons and Mythical Creatures by Mary Pope Osborne and Natalie Pope Boyce (physical / library / with kids)
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This book covers a huge array of mythical creatures, but gives very little in depth info about any of them.

Challenges

GOODREADS

99 of 260

AGATHA CHRISTIE READ ALONGS

None

CLASSICS CHALLENGE

None

BACKLIST READER CHALLENGE 2017

None

CRUISIN’ THRU THE COZIES 2017

None

POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2017

None

Leave a Reply

