A Bibliophile’s Pile (20): Happy Memorial Day!

Read

The Simplicity of CiderThe Simplicity of Cider by Amy E. Reichert (audiobook / library)
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

This didn’t have quite the charm of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake (although Lou and Al make a brief appearance!), but I still enjoyed it quite a bit. The flirtation with magical realism detracted from the story for me, but that’s personal preference. I liked the two main characters, but the secondary characters really shone.

The Phantom TollboothThe Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster (physical (own) / audiobook (library) / with kids)
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My son *loves* this book, and has wanted me to read it for awhile. Somehow, I never read it as a kid, even though it is significantly older than I am. It’s full of puns (some of them extremely old fashioned), which is probably why my kids enjoy it so much. At 8 and 11 puns are fresh and funny. At 38, not so much. For myself, I’d give it 2.5 to 3 stars, but I’ve added a 4th star for my kids.

Guidebook to Murder (A Tourist Trap Mystery #1)Guidebook to Murder by Lynn Cahoon (audiobook / library)
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Fun new-to-me series! Jill was occasionally annoying, but mostly lovable, and the mystery was solid.

 

A New Model: What Confidence, Beauty, and Power Really Look LikeA New Model: What Confidence, Beauty, and Power Really Look Like by Ashley Graham (physical / library)
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Ashley’s work ethic, loving relationship with her husband, and message of body positivity, are all admirable and commendable.

Many aspects of her life, including developing a woman’s body at a young age, are extremely relatable to me. Other things, like her attitude toward nudity / body baring clothing, are almost unfathomable to me. I was raised with fairly strict rules about modesty, and those are hard to break.

I had to deduct a star for the haphazard organization of the book. I *think* they were going for a combo of chronological and subject based, but it felt muddled.

The Inimitable Jeeves: A Jeeves and Wooster ComedyThe Inimitable Jeeves by P.G. Wodehouse (audiobook / library)
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

P. G. Wodehouse never disappoints – perfect for when I want a quick, funny read.

Challenges

GOODREADS

131 of 260

AGATHA CHRISTIE READ ALONGS

None

#shakeit2017

None

CLASSICS CHALLENGE

The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster

BACKLIST READER CHALLENGE 2017

The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster

POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2017

A book written by someone you admire – A New Model: What Confidence, Beauty, and Power Really Look Like by Ashley Graham

One thought on “A Bibliophile’s Pile (20): Happy Memorial Day!

  1. Holly says:

    I read The Phantom Tollbooth last year and really loved it– despite the fact that it’s 95% puns 🙂 I still really need to read The Coincidence of Coconut Cake this summer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

