A Bibliophile’s Pile (21): June Already?

Read

Other People's BaggageOther People’s Baggage by Diane Vallere, Kendel Lynn, and  Gigi Pandian (ebook / library)
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Diane Vallere’s prequel to the Mad for Mod series was fun, if lacking in Rocky, Hudson, and Tex (those 3 really add to the series!). Gigi Pandian’s Fools Gold definitely made me interested in her Jaya Jones series (which my library has in their digital library!). The weak spot was Kendel Lynn’s story – yawn.

A Midsummer Night's DreamA Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare (audiobook (library) / physical (own) / re-read)
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A Midsummer Night’s Dream is one of my favorite of Shakespeare’s plays because it is full of fun, ridiculous situations, witty banter, and fairies. I had to deduct a star from this version, as I didn’t like the interpretation of Puck. I prefer Puck as mischievous and sly, but this Puck was downright evil. Amanda Root as Hermia was wonderful!

Ruby Red (Ruby Red, #1)Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier (audiobook / library)
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Time travel, magic, ghosts, and mysteries- what’s not to love?

In Farleigh Field: A Novel of World War IIIn Farleigh Field: A Novel of World War II by Rhys Bowen (physical / library)
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

I’ve read some *very* negative reviews of this book. One of my dear friends hated the ending (she didn’t specify exactly what she hated, so I can only guess). Another person commented on my Bookstagram account that it was “light and silly,” which I thought was pretty condescending.
Anyway, I enjoyed it. It wasn’t nearly as light or silly (endearing) as Bowen’s Royal Spyness mysteries (which I love!). It also wasn’t a fabulously original spy novel. But it was entertaining, had some charming characters, and was well researched.

Death of a Ghost (A Hamish Macbeth Mystery)Death of a Ghost by M.C. Beaton (ebook / library)
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The mystery rambles on, with a second plot taking up the epilogue (seriously, it’s like a completely unrelated short story). There are cameos by seemingly every character to have appeared in a Hamish Macbeth novel (except Dr. Brody – why?), plus a plethora of new characters. So, typical Beaton, basically. I still love Hamish and Charlie.

Sapphire BlueSapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier (audiobook / library)
My rating: 2.5 of 5 stars

The time travel, magic, ghosts, and mysteries are still awesome, but the “romance” is god-awful.

Challenges

GOODREADS

137 of 260

AGATHA CHRISTIE READ ALONGS

None

#shakeit2017

A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare

CLASSICS CHALLENGE

A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare

BACKLIST READER CHALLENGE 2017

 None

POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2017

A book with multiple authors – Other People’s Baggage by Diane Vallere, Kendel Lynn, and  Gigi Pandian

An espionage thriller – In Farleigh Field: A Novel of World War II by Rhys Bowen

A book by an author from a country you’ve never visitedRuby Red by Kerstin Gier

A book set in two different time periods – Sapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier

 

Leave a Reply

