A Bibliophile’s Pile (24): Only Audiobooks

Read

Five by Fitzgerald: Classic Stories of the Jazz AgeFive by Fitzgerald: Classic Stories of the Jazz Age by F. Scott Fitzgerald (audiobook / library)
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

4 stars for Bernice Bobs Her Hair – actually reminded me of some of L. M. Montgomery’s short stories

4 stars for The Curious Case of Benjamin Button – fascinating and sad

3 stars for The Diamond as Big as the Ritz – that was so strange, I don’t know what to make of it

3 stars for Dalyrimple Goes Wrong – there’s the cynicism I’ve been expecting

4 stars for Head and Shoulders – reminded me of The Gift of the Magi by O. Henry, except twisted and cynical

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed these stories, considering how I feel about Gatsby. LOVED Bronson Pinchot’s narration of the first 4 stories!

Basil of Baker StreetBasil of Baker Street by Eve Titus (audiobook / library)
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Super quick and cute read!

 

Carry On, Jeeves!Carry On, Jeeves! by P.G. Wodehouse (audiobook / library)
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Ah, P. G. Wodehouse is always a refreshing, fun read! But, is the F word in one of the stories? It sure sounded like it! I’ve requested a physical copy from the library, so I can check it out.

Station ElevenStation Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel (audiobook / library)
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I love the way the author wove the story together, moving back and forth through time. It wasn’t startling, like I expected (I thought it would be like The Road or Area X). Instead, it was captivating, strangely soothing, and satisfying.

Challenges

GOODREADS

147 of 260

AGATHA CHRISTIE READ ALONGS

None

#shakeit2017

None

CLASSICS CHALLENGE

None

BACKLIST READER CHALLENGE 2017

 None

POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2017

 

 

Leave a Reply

