A Bibliophile’s Pile (25): Eclectic

Read

Something the Cat Dragged InSomething the Cat Dragged In by Charlotte MacLeod (eBook / library)
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

My least favorite of the series so far. The wonderful characters and erudite humor are still in full force, but the plot centers around politics, and I just couldn’t get into it. After last year, I don’t want to think about politics.

The Blue CastleThe Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery (audiobook / library / re-read)
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I will never stop loving this book!

Othello (Classic Literature With Classical Music)Othello by William Shakespeare (audiobook (library) / physical (own) / re-read)
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I much prefer Shakespeare’s comedies, but that’s just because Othello is too real to life. The tragedy is rooted in men’s inequities, with no ghostly interference. Iago’s cunning and Othello’s jealousy are frightening in their reality.

Why is Art Full of Naked People?: And other vital questions about artWhy is Art Full of Naked People?: And other vital questions about art by Susie Hodge (physical /own)
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A good introduction to art for children. Not as informative as I had hoped for.

Battlestar Galactica (Battlestar Galactica Miniseries, #1)Battlestar Galactica by Jeffrey A. Carver (audiobook / library)
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Basically, exactly like the 2003 mini-series, with very little extra insight. The narrator did an excellent job of mimicking the actors speech patterns, without trying to impersonate them, but some of his pronunciations were off. He continually said C A G instead of cag, which made me giggle every single time.

The Cylons' SecretThe Cylons’ Secret by Craig Shaw Gardner (audiobook / library)
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Now that was more like it! Interesting background info on Adama, Tigh, and Zarek. The cylon’s actual secret is gruesome, shocking, and perfectly BSG.

Challenges

GOODREADS

153 of 260

AGATHA CHRISTIE READ ALONGS

None

#shakeit2017

Othello by William Shakespeare

CLASSICS CHALLENGE

Othello by William Shakespeare

BACKLIST READER CHALLENGE 2017

 None

POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2017

None

 

4 thoughts on “A Bibliophile’s Pile (25): Eclectic

  1. rudejasper says:

    Glad you are liking the BSG tie in books! That’s not one of my obsessive shows but I have really loved some Doctor Who, Veronica Mars and Star Wars tie in novels – they are especially great when they expand the world and characters.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

