A Bibliophile’s Pile (26): Feeling Accomplished

Read

Good in BedGood in Bed by Jennifer Weiner (audiobook / library)
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book surprised me. I was expecting a rom-com with a plus-size heroine. I got a drama that made me laugh out loud, cry, and feel good about the current state of my body.

Meet Your Baker (A Bakeshop Mystery, #1)Meet Your Baker by Ellie Alexander (physical / library)
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’m so torn! On the one hand, there were a number of things I loved about the book: the small town setting, the Shakespearean references, the bakeshop, the punny title, most of the characters. On the other hand, the mystery itself was disappointing. Neither Jules nor the actual police *solved* the mystery! Plus, Jules had the annoying (and typical) Cozy heroine habit of putting herself in dangerous situations, and Deputy Adams wasn’t helping. TORN!

The Fire ChronicleThe Fire Chronicle by John Stephens (audiobook / library / with kids)

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This book tries too hard to be LOTR and Harry Potter. Even the kids were a little bored. They enjoyed it enough to want to read the 3rd, and final, book. I need a break first!

Anne of Windy Poplars (Anne of Green Gables, #4)Anne of Windy Poplars by L.M. Montgomery (audiobook / library / re-read)

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book (and Anne of Ingleside) was written after many years after the series was finished, and it shows. Montgomery makes references to Anne’s future which I found distractingly self conscious. The worst offender is Anne’s thankfulness that wars no longer happen (written in 1936, but taking place in before WWI). The story is too episodic, and features too many new characters, who are rarely seen again. Still, it’s Anne and Montgomery, so it’s lovely.

Blood Bound (Mercy Thompson, #2)Blood Bound by Patricia Briggs (ebook / library)

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Mercedes Thompson is so awesome, it almost doesn’t bother me that there’s a love quadrangle.

 

Untimely DeathUntimely Death by Elizabeth J. Duncan (audiobook / library)

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A charming way to warm up for my reading of Romeo and Juliet. Loads of Shakespeare and some Project Runway references.

Challenges

GOODREADS

159 of 260

AGATHA CHRISTIE READ ALONGS

None

#shakeit2017

None

CLASSICS CHALLENGE

Anne of Windy Poplars by L.M. Montgomery

BACKLIST READER CHALLENGE 2017

 None

POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2017

None

Leave a Reply

