A Bibliophile’s Pile (27): Prequels and Retellings

Read

Ill Met by Murder (Shakespeare in the Catskills Mystery #2)Ill Met by Murder by Elizabeth J. Duncan (audiobook / library)

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Interesting mystery, fun Shakespearean elements, a charming protagonist, and a central romance that actually progresses!

Ajax Penumbra 1969 (Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore, #0.5)Ajax Penumbra 1969 by Robin Sloan (audiobook / library)

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was so excited when this became available at my library! I’ve been wanting to read it for ages, but couldn’t find it anywhere. An excellent prequel to Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore. My favorite part was the description of the unusual books – books that glow in the dark, lol.

HeartstoneHeartstone by Elle Katharine White (audiobook / library)

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Quite decent P&P adaptation. I liked the fantasy world White built, and I enjoyed the changes in characterization she made to almost ever character – it kept the story fresh. It was lacking the wit and charm of Austen’s original, but was still one of the better adaptations I’ve read.

Challenges

GOODREADS

162 of 260

AGATHA CHRISTIE READ ALONGS

None

#shakeit2017

None

CLASSICS CHALLENGE

None

BACKLIST READER CHALLENGE 2017

None

POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2017

None

Leave a Reply

