A Bibliophile’s Pile (28): You Take the Good, You Take the Bad

Read

Jane of Lantern HillJane of Lantern Hill by L.M. Montgomery (audiobook / library / re-read / with kids)
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Old fashioned (although considerably more modern than Montgomery’s other books) character study of a spunky heroine. Jane is delightful, and manages to carry the weak plot. Probably not a great choice for children of divorced or separated parents, but there are lessons to be learned about the importance of communication in relationships.

Jane of Lantern HillBasil and the Lost Colony by Eve Titus (audiobook / library / with kids)
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Bachenreich Falls, lol. Cute Sherlockian mystery for kids.

 

 

Dangerous MindsDangerous Minds by Janet Evanovich (ebook / library)
My rating: 2.5 of 5 stars

Emerson Knight and Riley Moon are rather plain, charmless main characters. Vernon is just Evanovich’s crude sense of humor run amuck (sadly, there was no Phoef Sutton to hold her in check). My favorite character by far was Wayan Bagus, the monk. He was adorable.

Bran New Death (Merry Muffin Mystery #1)Bran New Death by Victoria Hamilton (audiobook / library)
My rating: 2.5 of 5 stars

LOL, it’s so obvious that this is written by a much older woman, with little pop culture knowledge. She references a Maroon 5 song as Moves Like “Jaguar”.

While the mystery itself was okay, I didn’t love the characters. They were too outlandish, like caricatures, and half of them had weird names (I know, I have a weird name, but I’m not half the population of a small town).

I won’t be continuing with this series.

Ash and Quill (The Great Library #3)Ash and Quill by Rachel Caine (physical / own)
My rating: 3.75 of 5 stars

Ash and Quill is somewhat unevenly paced, and I still prefer almost every other major character to Jess and Morgan (whose romance is too pervasive). However, this book is really just a setup for books 4 and 5, and boy do I want them NOW.

Basil and the Cave of CatsBasil and the Cave of Cats by Eve Titus (audiobook / library / with kids)
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

My least favorite of the series so far. I understand that it’s a product of its time, but the racism and condescension towards the cats is extremely off putting.

 

Romeo & Juliet (Arkangel Shakespeare)Romeo & Juliet by William Shakespeare (audiobook / physical / library / owned / re-read)
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Shakespeare’s astonishing talent, and this impressive cast, almost completely make me forgot that the story is dreadful! Honestly, two horrible, vengeful, quarrelsome families raise two whiny, hormonal, ridiculous children, and at least 6 people die because of some blood feud. WTH is wrong with people?!

A Batter of Life and Death (A Bakeshop Mystery, #2)A Batter of Life and Death by Ellie Alexander (physical / library)
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Again, an eminently readable story that combines some of my favorite things: fun characters, a cute small town, Shakespearean references, a *baking competition*

And again, the killer is revealed almost by magic! Cringe.

Challenges

GOODREADS

170 of 260

AGATHA CHRISTIE READ ALONGS

None

#shakeit2017

Romeo & Juliet by William Shakespeare

CLASSICS CHALLENGE

Jane of Lantern Hill by L.M. Montgomery

Romeo & Juliet by William Shakespeare

BACKLIST READER CHALLENGE 2017

None

POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2017

A steampunk novel Ash and Quill by Rachel Caine

Leave a Reply

