A Bibliophile’s Pile (29): You Take Them Both

Read

The Duchess of Bloomsbury StreetThe Duchess of Bloomsbury Street by Helene Hanff (physical / own)

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’ve always loved autobiographies, memoirs, and diaries. Helene Hanff’s travel diary is no exception. It’s witty, occasionally snarky, full of British history, and just a joy to read.

Romeo and Juliet: A Novel by David Hewson (audiobook / own)

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I loved the setting, historical details, and *some* of the backstories. I hated what Hewson did to Count Paris, rolled my eyes at Juliet’s anachronistic feminism (I mean, feminism is cool, but anachronisms are not), and groaned at the end! The ending was SO wrong!

Basil in MexicoBasil in Mexico by Eve Titus (audiobook / library / with kids)

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I appreciate the Sherlockian references, and my kids love the story of an anthropomorphic mouse detective. Win-win

The Cold Light of Mourning (A Penny Brannigan Mystery #1)The Cold Light of Mourning by Elizabeth J. Duncan (physical / library)

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Absolutely delightful Cozy! Penny is a supremely likable, if somewhat reckless, heroine. The small Welsh village is a perfect setting, and the locals are colorful without being ridiculous. I’m so thrilled to have found a new (to me) Cozy author to love!

Basil in the Wild WestBasil in the Wild West by Eve Titus (audiobook / library / with kids)

My rating: 2.75 of 5 stars

This entry in the series is either extremely disjointed, or bad at holding my attention. Basil solves the mystery by being a snob 😆

Very Good, Jeeves!Very Good, Jeeves! by P.G. Wodehouse (audiobook / library)
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I love that my library has some many Wodehouse books in their digital library! They’re perfect for when I want something light, and the narrator is excellent.

Challenges

GOODREADS

176 of 260

AGATHA CHRISTIE READ ALONGS

None

#shakeit2017

None

CLASSICS CHALLENGE

The Duchess of Bloomsbury Street by Helene Hanff

BACKLIST READER CHALLENGE 2017

None

POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2017

None

Leave a Reply

