Thoughtful Third Thursday: July 2015

Today’s T3 theme is Beach Read (something you’d read on the beach and/or set at the beach). I’m not really one to associate particular types of books with the beach – my last 3 beach reads were Ender’s Game, The Hunger Games, and Gone With the Wind. So I’m going for something set at the beach: The Thousand-Dollar Tan Line (Veronica Mars #1) by Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham.

If you’re a fan of the TV show, you already know about Veronica’s hometown of Neptune, CA:

The hazard of living in a place where you had so much history–so much pain and so much rage and so much love–was that every item could turn on you in a flash.

This novel picks up where the Veronica Mars film left off, with Veronica back home in Neptune and helping out her dad. Plus, it’s Spring Break so the town is overrun with college kids in board shorts and bikinis.

I took my inspiration from Neptune, named for the Roman god of the sea and the eighth planet in our solar system. Both the ocean and the planet are a lovely deep shade of blue:

imageYour turn!

9 thoughts on “Thoughtful Third Thursday: July 2015

  1. mtsedwards says:

    ARGH!!! TARDIS blue! I LOVE it! And I’m a HUGE Veronica Mars fan too. How come I’ve never heard of this book?! Is the book good? It’s by Rats Saw God author, though. Hmmm…

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      Yes, Veronica’s dad is a P. I. and she helped him when she was in high school (that’s what the TV show was about). In the books she’s an adult and still helping him. These books are great for Marshmallows (what the fans call themselves) but certainly accessible for anyone.

      Like

Leave a comment