Mini Reviews (23) – 20 Books of Summer Challenge 2016 Wrap Up

The challenge ran June 1 – September 5, and was hosted by Cathy @ 746 Books. For my complete list, see my sign up post. For my other reviews, click here and here.

  1. Persuasion by Jane Austen
    ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
    I’ve been looking forward to this re-read for a long time, and I was not disappointed. Anne and Captain Wentworth are mature leads, which I probably appreciate more now than in college.
  2. Lost in Austen: Create Your Own Jane Austen Adventure by Emma Campbell Webster
    ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
    Review – This was not on my original list, but when I found a copy for $0.50 I just had to read it immediately!
  3. Dead Man’s Folly by Agatha Christie
    ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
    As she aged, Christie seemed to enjoy spoofing herself and Poirot. This makes for a fun, if outlandish, read.
  4. The Moving Finger by Agatha Christie
    ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
    A decent AC mystery. I enjoyed Jerry and Joanna, although I found the plethora of other village characters a tad confusing (some of them were so similar). I must admit that my favorite thing about this Miss Marple was the decided lack of Miss Marple (if it had been a Poirot, I would’ve complained no end!). This wasn’t on my original list, but I’ve been wanting to do a read-along with @maidensofmurder for awhile, so I took the opportunity in August.

Leave a comment