Top Five (Seven) Tuesday: The Seven Deadly Sins Tag

The lovely Rachel @ Confessions of a Book Geek tagged me with the Seven Deadly Sins Tag last week. I was already thinking of my answers (seriously, I can’t read one of these things without doing that) when I saw that she had tagged me. 😀

1. Greed – What is your most inexpensive book? The VAST majority of the books I buy are from the bargain shelf / library book sale / thrift store. The deal that made me squee most recently was a brand new, hardback copy of Cinder by Marissa Meyer for $4.98. I still haven’t read it though. I think I’m going to wait until next fall just before Winter comes out, in case I LOVE it and want to marathon the series.

2. Wrath – What author do you have a love/hate relationship with?

Maybe Neil Gaiman? I feel like I SHOULD love him. He writes fantasy, which is one of my favorite genres, he’s a big Whovian, everyone else loves him, etc. But the first (and only) Gaiman I read, Stardust, was just meh for me.

3. Gluttony – What book have you devoured over and over with no shame? The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins, hands down. I’ve read the entire trilogy 4 times in the past 2 years. Every time, I tell myself I’m going to read slowly and savor every word, but then I end up binge reading all three books in as many days and get a massive book hangover.

4. Sloth – What book have you neglected reading due to laziness? The Silmarillion by J. R. R. Tolkien. Y’all, I LOVE Tolkien but this book is soooo dense!

5. Pride – What book do you most talk about in order to sound like an intellectual reader?

I don’t do this, but I do talk about all the books my kids read because I’m a super proud mama!

6. Lust – What attributes do you find attractive in male or female characters? imageMy favorite male characters are usually kind, loyal, and funny (Peeta from THG – why oh WHY didn’t that scene ^ make it into the film?). I’m also partial to sarcastic smart-alecks (Minho from The Maze Runner). Hmm, all of those adjectives apply to my husband! 😉

7. Envy – What book would you most like to receive as a gift? Number one on my Christmas list is Clariel by Garth Nix.

I’m tagging: Rachel @ The End of the Chapter

Erin @ Raised Reading

Anyone else who’s interested!

7 thoughts on “Top Five (Seven) Tuesday: The Seven Deadly Sins Tag

  1. mtsedwards says:

    What a brilliant idea! And what a brilliant list. The funny thing is that I was able to predict about half of your answers. I must know you really well, eh? ;p

    Like

  2. Melissa says:

    I’ve never read The Silmarillion even though I love LOTR. Also, I feel like Gaiman isn’t for everyone and he tends to get overly hyped. I love his work, but I didn’t love the first book of his tha tI read (American Gods.) His books are so very different, so if you start with one that doesn’t work for you there is definitely a variety to choose from. I’d recommend trying The Graveyard Book or Good Omens if you feel like giving him another shot. This might help you pick one you’d like too…
    http://avidreader25.blogspot.com/2012/07/top-ten-books-for-people-who-like-neil.html

    Like

  3. Stephanie says:

    I think your smart to wait and read Cinder until Winter is out. I found it to be a very fun amd easy series to get sucked into and was bummed that I have to wait for the final Book! I would say my wrathful relationship right now is with Stephen King. I think he’s a really talented writer and storyteller but I just can’t get through his books. I should finally finish one of his in the next couple days. I do like Neil Gaiman but I thought the movie Stardust was better than the book which is a reversal of the usual.

    Like

Leave a comment