Thoughtful Third Thursday: February 2014

Thoughtful Third Thursday

It’s finally here!  Our very first Thoughtful Third Thursday link up!

I’m taking my inspiration today from Agatha Christie: An Autobiography.  The first 3 sections of the book are about young Agatha’s childhood in Victorian England.  There is much discussion of Victorian values and social norms.  This is the quote that inspired me:

The drawing-room at Ealing was a wonderful period piece.  There was practically no room in it to move about.  It had a rather splendid thick Turkey carpet on the floor, and every type of brocaded chair; each one of them uncomfortable.  It had two, if not three, marquetry china cabinets, a large central candelabra, standard oil lamps, quantities of small whatnots, occasional tables, and French Empire furniture.  The light from the window was blocked by a conservatory, a prestige symbol that was a must, as in all self-respecting Victorian houses.

This quote inspired me to do something I never do – over accessorize!

T3 Collage 1

And here is how I actually wore the outfit, more 1990s than 1890s, eh?

2/20/14

Now it’s your turn!  Click the linky below, or visit my Thoughtful Third Thursday page for all the details!  Maricel and I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

Linking up for Thoughtful Third Thursday @ My Closet Catalogue

15 thoughts on “Thoughtful Third Thursday: February 2014

  1. Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

    Melissa – I do wear accessories, and I’ve worn 2 belts and a stack of bracelets before, but not at the same time. I definitely lean toward the “less is more” school of thought, but it was fun to play around. 🙂
    I’d suggest finding a type of accessory you really like (bracelets are my favorite) and starting a collection of that type. Another suggestion is to find a signature piece, something you wear frequently, almost like you wear your wedding ring(s). Mine is the sapphire pendant I’m wearing above.
    Thanks so much for stopping by!

    Like

  2. mtsedwards says:

    Thanks for the tip, Alex. I found that out as well. We’re newbies at this but it’s not so steep a learning curve so it should all be sorted fro next time.

    @Selah – I love how you showed a before and after of the outfit, but I challenge you to wear the inspiration outfit all day next time. Eheh. Coz you know I would’ve kept all the bling on all day. Then again, I don’t have judgy matrons looking down their noses at me.

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      LOL, judgy matrons!

      As I was just commenting on to Alex (over on her post), wearing something outside of my style comfort zone can be fun for awhile, but I prefer to wear outfits I LOVE. And I absolutely adore my “as worn” outfit! It’s different than anything I’ve worn recently, but I feel very “me” in it, you know?

      Like

  3. mtsedwards says:

    Yeah, I get you. And I can tell from your body language that you feel way more confident in the second outfit. I like both (sans belt coz I have no waist) so it’s all good.

    Like

  4. alovelylittlwardrobe.com says:

    Selah, I really love this idea and have been waiting for it to launch. I love reading and adore books, but I hadn’t thought about how to link them together. Hence, why I was waiting to see the results. I love your take on the quote you posted. I may join in one day…when I get my head back into fiction but for now I’ve got to read for grad class.

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      Thank you Carrie! No pressure to link up this time, but I do want to encourage you to think outside of fiction. I used a quote from a biography and Alex @ Undergraduate Style used a non-fiction book. On my Thoughtful Third Thursday page I encourage you to use quotes from “novel, non-fiction, short story, magazine, blog, manga” and I will add to that textbooks and the Bible. 🙂 Anything you read that inspires an outfit idea!

      Like

Leave a comment