TTT: 4th Quarter 2015 TBR

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is Top Ten Books On My Fall TBR. I’m doing my 4th Quarter 2015 TBR.

image

  1. The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde. My October read for the 2015 Birthday Month Reading Challenge hosted by Lois at You, Me, and a Cup of Tea.
  2. Anne of the Island by L. M. Montgomery. My November read for the same challenge.
  3. Emma by Jane Austen. My December read for – can you guess?
  4. The Murders in the Rue Morgue by Edgar Allen Poe. For Halloween!
  5. Wicked Autumn by G. M. Malliet. Seasonal reading makes me happy. 🙂
  6. Why Is This Night Different from All Other Nights? by Lemony Snicket. Pre-ordered, releases 9/29/15.
  7. Spinning Starlight by R. C. Lewis. Pre-ordered, releases 10/6/15.
  8. Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith. Pre-ordered, releases 10/20/15.
  9. Beastly Bones by William Ritter. Releases 9/22/15. Downloaded the eBook from my library this morning!
  10. All Dressed in White by Mary Higgins Clark. Releases 11/17/15. #4 on the holds list. No cover yet.

Update on my 3rd Quarter TBR:

  1. Malice at the Palace by Rhys Bowen ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
  2. Dumb Witness by Agatha Christie ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
  3. Death Wears a Beauty Mask by Mary Higgins Clark DNF
    After some ranting I skimmed the end of the title story – meh. I’m not bothering with the rest of the book.
  4. The Melody Lingers On by Mary Higgins Clark ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
  5. Superfluous Women by Carola Dunn ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
  6. The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George DNF
    I really loved the actual bookstore scenes, and the quotes about books were divine, but mostly I was just bored. I felt like if I kept reading this book I would end up in a reading slump. 😦 I’ve since discovered that my library has an eaudio version, so I might try again someday.
  7. Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
  8. Kes by Robin McKinley ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
  9. Uprooted by Naomi Novik DNF
    This makes me sad. Several people whose opinions on books I trust really enjoyed this one. However, at 50% in I was bored. I didn’t really care about any of the characters, the plot is incredibly rambling, the “romance” is squicky, etc. Sigh.
  10. The Philosopher Kings by Jo Walton DNF 
    This is getting ridiculous y’all! I loved The Just City and I was super excited for the sequel, but about halfway through this book (and therefore halfway through the trilogy) the author took a strongly anti-Christian stand. I feel like that was her agenda for the series all along. :/

I’m linking up: Top Ten Tuesday

 

16 thoughts on “TTT: 4th Quarter 2015 TBR

  1. Jane Whittingham says:

    Ugh, I hate when a book leaves me bored – that’s just about the worst thing a book can do to me. I much prefer to actually hate a book – at least then it’s given me something to think about, talk about or write about (this usually makes for an engaging book club meeting!). But a boring book? That’s just depressing! 😦

    Like

Leave a comment