Another (2) Liebster Awards!

379f6-liebsterlogo

The lovely Rachel @ Confessions of a Book Geek, and the equally lovely Stefani @ Caught Read Handed, both nominated me for a Liebster Award this week! Thank you ladies!

The rules are as follows:
-First, post 11 random facts about yourself.
-Then, answer the 11 questions that the person who nominated you will post.
-Finally, choose 11 new blogs with under 200 followers for their Liebster Award, notify them that they have been nominated, and think of 11 questions for them to answer!

I’ve chosen to answer 11 of the questions Rachel answered in her post. If you want to read random facts about me, see here and here, or come back tomorrow. 😉

Why did you start blogging?

I actually started my blog as a personal style blog / creative outlet. I had been very active on Go Chic Or Go Home and had been linking up to Remix Rewear Restyle at Greater Than Rubies for months, so a blog wasn’t a big leap. I did a few posts focusing on the bibliophile portion of the name, and voila, a book blog was born!

Where did your blog name come from?

I’ve identified as a bibliophile for years, and it rhymes with style, so it was a no-brainer for a personal style blog. Lucky me, the bibliophile portion of the name allowed for an expansion of my topics. 🙂

What’s your favourite of your own blog posts?

I’m quite partial to my T3 posts.

How do you find new blogs to follow?

I always try to visit anyone who follows me or comments on my blog. It’s the simplest way to find kindred spirits. I will also click over to someone’s blog if they leave an interesting comment on a blog I enjoy. That’s how I found my Best Blogging Buddy (BBB? B3?) Maricel @ My Closet Catalogue.

Would you ever stop following a blog? Why?

Yep. If I feel like I have a relationship with another blogger, I will keep following them. I will stop following bloggers who never respond to comments, or, of course, if their content no longer interests me.

What is your opinion on commenting on blog posts?

As you can tell from my last answer, commenting is super important to me! I love the blogging community and the relationships I have with other bloggers. I always try to respond to comments, especially if they’re thoughtful comments. I love it when other bloggers respond to my comments! This is one of my favorite things about Rachel and Stefani – they will both have comment convos!

There are certain bloggers whose opinions I value, when they give a good review I will go out of my way to read that book. Name a blogger whose opinions you value and explain why?

Stefani, for sure! Her reviews are so fun to read! She is so enthusiastic about the books she enjoys that I actually read, and loved, Attachments, which I’d previously had zero interest in. I also read The Maze Runner on her recommendation, and then promptly went and bought the rest of the series. 😀

Name one author whose books you will always read.

There are a bunch, but I’m going to go with an author who’s still alive and writing. 🙂 Robin McKinley.

If you could only recommend one book for another to read, what would it be and why?

P&P! Austen is incredibly funny and smart. I am astounded that she wrote a book over 200 years ago that still resonates with a huge percentage of the population! I especially wish that more guys would read Austen!

What is your most anticipated read of 2014?

The Silkworm.

One of the recent themes of Top Ten Tuesday was: if you like this TV show/film, you should read this book. Provide a book recommendation based on your favourite film or TV show.

Like Rachel, I spent a lot of time on my post for that particular TTT, so I’m going to link it here. 🙂 Doctor Who!

⭐ I’m nominating 2 newbie bloggers that deserve recognition and readership. I’d love to hear these ladies’ answers to the questions above! ⭐

Rachael @ The End of the Chapter

Erin @ Raised Reading

12 thoughts on “Another (2) Liebster Awards!

  1. Rachel says:

    Yay for comment convos!!! It’s so much better when people respond and others join in and it becomes a live conversation rather than a stagnant response! Looking forward to Rachael and Erin’s answers! 🙂 R x

    Like

  2. mtsedwards says:

    The comment about commenting really resonates with me because I agree with you 100%. However, I find WordPress’s format really limiting in that regard. Unless I click on the “Notify me” button, I don’t know if a comment I made is being followed up or not. Easy fix by just clicking on the darned button, sure, but then I get emails when ANYONE comments. It’s not like in a forum where you can just opt to follow one “thread” of conversation.

    I know others have overcome this issue by using Disqus. Unfortunately, WordPress doesn’t allow for this. I almost feel I’ve overstayed my welcome on WP and that maybe I should find another place/way to host my blog, but I think that requires time, know-how and/or money so I guess “Notify me” it is. :/

    (Sorry, this ended up becoming a mini-rant; that’s what I get when yours is the first blog I read and comment on when I’ve barely woken up. 😜)

    Like

    • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

      Rant away! I actually like WP comments because if I go to notifications in my WP reader I can easily see when other WP bloggers respond to me. What I really hate is Blogspot comments. Unless the blogger has Disqus or IntenseDebate, there is NO option to follow comments.

      Like

        • Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

          Seriously? It’s just wordpress.com
          If you’re logged in, you should see your feed. The little speach bubble at the top will be orange if you have a comment, reply, like or follow. There is a similar speach bubble in the top right hand corner if your dashboard (where you compose your posts).

          Like

          • mtsedwards says:

            The orange speech bubble! (<— read like Zoolander when he says "In the computer!")

            Well, that was a total duh moment for me. I am currently typing this response on the orange speech bubble function of WP. Wheeee!

            Hey, does this mean I don't have to get email notifications/hit the "notify" me button anymore?

            Like

Leave a Reply

